Skip to Main Content

Assignment Notes

Let's all keep notes and assignments here so that we can build our own repository.

Zoology 101--Martin Spring 2025

Term Paper Objectives

Gather information from peer-reviewed and scholarly journals utilizing library resources, including databases. Recognize the difference between the reliability and accuracy of information presented between social media, internet postings, popular press articles, technical magazines and peer-reviewed journal articles. Use scientific journal articles to investigate how global climate change is impacting species and the ecosystems in which they live. Synthesize information gathered from different sources into a logical presentation of the facts. Produce an oral and visual presentation (using Powerpoint or similar program) using verifiable data from peer-reviewed journals that follows a logical progression to present factual information to a public audience. Use proper methods for presenting, synthesizing and citing information from scientific journals in a written paper. Learn the proper format for presenting bibliographic data and presenting the information and ideas of other scientists in a written format.

Theme: 

The Impact of Global Climate Change on Animals Around the World

Overview:

In this assignment you and your partner(s), no more than 3, will research how a particular animal species has been impacted by global climate change. The project includes the following components. Presentation: Presentation of researched topic to fellow lab students utilizing Powerpoint (if you try and use a cloud server or provider for your presentation, it is your responsibility to make sure you can access it during your presentation) approximately 10 minutes in length.

Topic:

There are many animals around the world that are being impacted by global climate change. This is your opportunity to find and research an animal species that interests you, and to discover how climate change affects them. Once you and your partner and have decided on a possible topic animal, notify the instructor ASAP (email is a good way - martinda@mjc.edu - as it is immediate and dated). To obtain a broad perspective of animal diversity, presentation topics will be limited to one or two animal species per clade per lab section (generally at the class level for invertebrates and vertebrates). For instance only one team per lab section can choose a bivalve (Phylum Mollusca, Class Bivalvia), while another team can choose a cephalopod (Phylum Mollusca, Class Cephalopoda) – or: one team can choose a species of shark (Subphylum Vertebrata, Class Chondrichthyes) and another team can choose a species of ray-finned fishes (Subphylum Vertebrata, Class Actinopterygii). You must turn in your research animal of choice by Tuesday Feb 11.

Research:

Use a minimum of eight references (per team). Seven sources must be scientific journals (peer reviewed primary literature) such as American Midland Naturalist, Biological Bulletin, Conservation Biology, Ecology, and Science. No other references may be used unless pre-approved by Doc Dave and then only if they are respected sources such as National Geographic, National Wildlife, Audubon and etc., and non-government web pages are NEVER acceptable (including Wikipedia and other encyclopedias).

At least one of your research references should be recently published (within the last two years).

The following web sites may be used without prior approval:

Pictures:

In addition, images for your presentation should be obtained from “reliable” public domain internet sources (such as sites ending with .edu or .gov). You will also be introduced to reliable internet sources during the workshop with the MJC Librarian.

Outline:

You must turn in the outline of your intended paper on Tuesday February 25. Make sure to include the name of your subject species, it’s scientific classification, natural history, legal status and how climate change is impacting your species. Be sure to look at ecosystem impacts.

Preview- Abstract and List of References:

The weekend before your presentation (Friday March 21), your team must turn in a one page outline/summary of your research with a hard copy list of “References” used in preparing your presentation (APA format) appropriate for public display.  [PLEASE NOTE: Martin has been requiring students to use Council of Scientific Editors style guide for their citations--he has a copy of the style guide in his lab and student have been told to use that before submitting] 

The following are required elements of the presentation (PowerPoint recommended):

  • Classification of the animal species involved (include Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus and Specific Epithet).
  • Description of how your animal species is being impacted by climate change.
  • Legal status of your species: Threatened, Endangered, CITES Listed, etc., also look at legal status of the country within which your species lives.
  • Images of the species involved, as well as other relevant pictures/illustrations.
  • Keep text on Powerpoint slides brief.  You may use note cards for your own reference during your presentation. All text should be easy to read. Bold and shadow all text.
  • Minimum of one public domain photograph (website should be included).
  • A one page outline/summary (with List of References) of the above information appropriate for public display.
  • Presentations are scheduled for our lab meeting on Thursday, March 27rd . Written Paper: Each team of two (you may also work on your own) must write and submit a research paper (approximately 1500 words) which includes the following information: A) Biology of the animal species: Scientific classification Description of animal’s physical appearance General natural history: diet, habitat, behavior, etc. Legal status: Threatened, Endangered, CITES Listed, etc. B) Theme content: Describe how the niche your species occupies has been impacted by global climate change. Describe how the changes to environmental factors, which influence the occurrence of your animal, have impacted your animal; e.g. it’s behavior, reproduction, foraging, habitat availability and/or isolation. Discuss the importance of your species to the ecosystem(s) in which this animal lives. C) Bibliography: Included a bibliography of all literature sources you used to write your paper. Remember, you must use at least seven peer-reviewed journal articles. The remainder of your sources must be pree-aproved by your professor and may only include respected popular journals or government web pages (this is in addition to photograph source(s)). You MAY NOT use Wikipedia or other Encyclopedias (this is college, not high school), nor can you use non-government web pages EVER. You must include printed copies of at least two peer-reviewed journal articles that you used to write your paper. D) Format: The length of the research paper should be approximately 1500 words. The font should be at least 12 pt. font and double-spaced for ease of reading and single sided (printed on one side of the paper only). Following A.P.A. Formatting, references used are to be cited within the paper and then provided in the Reference List at the end of the paper. Final Paper is due no later than 11:59 pm, Sunday, March 26th: The research paper, including copies of at least two peer-reviewed journal articles is due no later than Sunday, March 26th; the paper will be submitted in Word doc format to Canvas under “Research Paper Assignment,” and the journal article copies must be submitted to Canvas as pdf documents under “Journal Articles.”

Deadlines: 

Groups Selected- Tuesday February 4th  

Research Animal Selected- Tuesday February 11th

Paper Outline - Tuesday February 25th

Group Meeting with Professor – BEFORE Saturday March 8th

Abstract and List of References - Friday March 21st   

Presentation - Tuesday, March 27th  

Final Paper – 11:59  pm, Monday, March 31st