Open Educational Resources @MJC

This is a library of OER for Nursing.

Resources from the ASCCC's Open Educational Resources Initiative.

From the Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing.

From Merlot

Filter by Discipline, Audience/Education Level, and Material Type (Case Study, Simulation, Textbook, Tutorial, and more)

MERLOT Health Sciences Portal is an educational resource for health professionals.

Curated collection from MERLOT Communities.

Various health resources from OASIS.

Nursing resources found using OASIS.

Nursing Collection

Texts from award -winning Open RN. These texts can also be found on LibreTexts where you can remix them to align with your curriculum.

These eight books ae part of a series that grew out of the Open Nursing Education (ONE) Summit held in February 2024.

This central Bookshelves area in this LibreTexts Library holds texts that are curated by the LibreTexts Development team and can be used either directly or as content for building customized remixes (i.e., texts that are generated from existing content often with customized editing and/or content interspersed) for use in Course Shells housed in Campus Bookshelves.

Open textbooks from the OTL.

Texts from the Open Textbooks hub of the OER Commons.

Peer-reviewed science texts.

This textbook introduces students to the essential tools of quality improvement. The emphasis is placed on health care informatics, as reflected in the several examples contained in the text. The book is written to be accessible to any student in the areas of health information management, health care informatics, and health care industrial engineering.

Transitions to Professional Nursing Practice provides a pivotal learning experience for students transitioning from an associate degree education to a baccalaureate degree. Content includes a broad overview of the nursing profession, the role of accrediting and professional organizations with a strong focus on the American Nurses Association’s foundational documents. The competencies of the Standards of Professional Practice and the Code of Ethics are weaved throughout the text.

This open access Nursing Pharmacology textbook is designed for entry-level undergraduate nursing students. It explains basic concepts of pharmacology and describes common medication classes. This book is not intended to be used as a drug reference book, but direct links are provided to DailyMed, which provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States.

OER Textbook by Kimberlee Carter and Marie Rutherford from OpenLibrary.

Text by Andrea M. Nelson and Katherine Greene from Open Textbook Library.

Published by BCcampus, this text is composed of eight separate health case studies. Each case study includes the patient narrative or story that models the best practice (at the time of publishing) in healthcare settings. Associated with each case is a set of specific learning objectives to support learning and facilitate educational strategies and evaluation.

From MERLOT.

Learning objects from the University of Wisconsin Colleges Online, a fully accredited program that is part of the University of Wisconsin Colleges system.

Learning objects including Laboratories, Visualizations: Anatomy and Physiology, and Worksheets.

Course from the OER Commons.

Various course materials found via OASIS.

OER courseware from Skills Commons.

This channel contains OER media with a CC 4.0 license being used by the Open RN project. The Open RN project is funded by a $2.5 million dollar grant from the Department of Education to create 5 OER Nursing Textbooks with 25 associated Virtual Reality scenarios.

This is a working document with hyperlinks to new VR scenarios that are added as they are being created by WTCS faculty and the Open RN team. These are licensed under Creative Commons CC BY 4.0. These require an institutional purchase of Acadicus VR software license for one or more virtual spaces.

A collection of the virtual simulations developed by WTCS faculty and the Open RN team. Each simulation is designed in H5P and is available under the Creative Commons CC BY 4.0 license, allowing free and open access for faculty to utilize, adapt, or modify them.