Open Educational Resources @MJC

Various composition OER from MERLOT suitable for College General Ed and College Lower Division courses.

Numerous OER for literature appropriate for College General Ed and College Lower Division courses.

Reading OER suitable for College General Ed and College Lower Division courses.

OER on the subject of Writing suitable for College General Ed and College Lower Division courses.

Composition OER found using OASIS.

OER on the topic of Literature found using OASIS.

Various OER on the topic and Reading and Writing from OASIS.

Resources for Community College / Lower Division courses in Composition from the OER Commons.

OER on the topic of Literature for the Community College / Lower Division level from the OER Commons.

OER on the topics of Reading and Writing for Community College / Lower Division students from the OER Commons.

Discipline page from the ASCCC OER Initiative.

Writing for Success is a text from LibreTexts that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition.

Book by Kathy Boylan, Elizabeth Browning, Katelyn Burton, Kirsten Devries, and Jenifer Kurtz. Edited by Ann Moser.

Found on Open WA and published by Pressbooks.

This book is a free and open resource to composition instructors and students, full of essays that could supplement OER rhetoric and writing texts that lacked readings. Last updated: September 16, 2019.

From Skyline College and edited by Rachel Bell.

Adapted from Writing for Success and edited by Amber Kinonen, Jennifer, McCann, Todd McCann, and Erica Mead.

This book is a collection of Creative Commons licensed essays for use in the first year writing classroom, all written by writing teachers for students.

Written by Eric Aldrich and Anthony Sovak, this book is part of the Achieving the Dream project.

Written by Heather Ringo and Athena Kashyap, this text offers instruction in analytical, critical, and argumentative writing, critical thinking, research strategies, information literacy, and proper documentation through the study of literary works from major genres, while developing students’ close reading skills and promoting an appreciation of the aesthetic qualities of literature.

The classic text by William Strunk is now in the Public Domain and is freely available for use. You may copy it, give it away or
re-use it under the terms of the Project Gutenberg License.

By Dr. Karen Palmer

By Anna Mills, this book takes students through the techniques they will need to respond to readings and make sophisticated arguments in any college class. This is a practical guide to argumentation with strategies and templates for the kinds of assignments students will commonly encounter. It covers rhetorical concepts in everyday language and explores how arguments can build trust and move readers. Also see the Table of Resources that Align with California Course Objectives for Argumentative Writing and Critical Thinking

This composition and rhetoric text guides students through the writing and research process with a focus on argument. It offers tools students can use to take their writing to the next level. By Kathy Boylan; Elizabeth Browning; Jenifer Kurtz; Tim Thornton; Angie Smibert; and Joel Bignell.

This anthology includes introductory text and images before each series of readings. Sections of the text are divided by time period in three parts: the Ancient World, Middle Ages, and Renaissance, and then divided into chapters by location. By Laura Getty and Kyounghye Kwon.

This anthology includes texts from a variety of genres and cultures are included in each unit. By Anita Turlington, Matthew Horton, Karen Dodson, Laura Getty, Kyounghye Kwon, Georgia, & Laura Ng.

This text, by Wendy Kurant, features sixty-nine authors and full texts of their works, the selections in this open anthology represent the diverse voices in early American literature.

This is an anonymous text that is in draft form. Last updated February 14, 2022.

By Bonnie J. Robinson and Laura Getty, this text features over 50 authors and full texts of their works, this anthology follows the shift of monarchic to parliamentarian rule in Britain, and the heroic epic to the more egalitarian novel as genre.

By Bonnie J. Robinson, this book features 37 authors and full texts of their works, the selections in this open anthology represent the literature developed within and developing through their respective eras.

Textbooks from OTL.

Composition and literature texts for Community College / Lower Division courses from the Open Textbooks hub of the OER Commons.

Open textbooks from the Open Textbooks hub of the OER Commons.

Open textbooks from BC Campus: OpenEd.

Open textbooks from GALILEO: Open Learning Materials.

Write Here, Right Now: An interactive Introduction to Academic Writing and Research utilizes PressBooks to create and host a writing e-textbook for first year university students that would effectively integrate into the flipped classroom model.

Written by five college reading and writing instructors, this interactive, multimedia text draws from decades of experience teaching students who are entering the college reading and writing environment for the very first time. It includes examples, exercises, and definitions for just about every reading- and writing-related topic students will encounter in their college courses.

Writing in College is designed for students who have largely mastered high-school level conventions of formal academic writing and are now moving beyond the five-paragraph essay to more advanced engagement with text. It is well suited to composition courses or first-year seminars and valuable as a supplemental or recommended text in other writing-intensive classes. It provides a friendly, down-to-earth introduction to professors’ goals and expectations, demystifying the norms of the academy and how they shape college writing assignments. Each of the nine chapters can be read separately, and each includes suggested exercises to bring the main messages to life.

This writer's reference condenses and covers everything a beginning writing student should need to successfully compose college-level work. The book covers the basics of composition and revising, including how to build a strong thesis, how to peer review a fellow student's work, and a handy checklist for revision, before moving on to a broad overview of academic writing. Included for those students who need writing help at the most basic level are comprehensive sections on sentence style and grammar, verbs, nouns and other tenets of basic grammar. Finally, the sections on research and citation should help any student find solid evidence for their school work and cite it correctly, as well as encouraging an understanding of why citation is so important in the first place. This is a guide that is useful to writing students of all levels, either as a direct teaching tool or a simple reference.

OER courses for College General Ed and College Lower Division students.

Course materials on the subject of Composition found using OASIS.

Open courses on the subjects of Reading and Writing found using OASIS.

English courses found using Open Course Library.

English courses from Saylor Academy.

Courses from Lumen Learning. Click on the English/Communication button.

Course materials from the Language Arts and Education area of the MJC Group of the OER Commons.