Research Guides: Ethnic Studies: Indigenous & Native American Studies

Databases and Articles for Native American studies

American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Use this database to find primary sources and brief overview articles to explore themes relating to indigenous peoples of North America from pre-contact to the colonial era into the 21st century.
What's included: Content is compiled from a variety of sources, including ABC-CLIO's award-winning books, recognized scholars and writers in various fields, educators, and professional development specialists.
American Indian History This link opens in a new window
Why search here? This is one of our History Research Center databases that provides access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups.
What's included: Primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, maps and graphs, and timelines.

Selected Journals

Journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association (NAIS)
This journal provides a dynamic intellectual space for the communication and dissemination of excellent scholarship related to Indigenous Studies. University of Minnesota Press; full-text coverage: March 22, 2014 - Current
American Indian Quarterly
A refereed interdisciplinary journal of the history, anthropology, literature and the arts of Native American Indians, book reviews and lists of recently published books. Full Text: 01/01/1990 to present
American Indian Law Review
Full text availability from 1997; in Nexis Uni database.
Canadian Journal of Native Studies
As a general focus, the journal publishes anthropological, historical, sociological, political, legal, educational and cultural issues affecting First Nations people. Although the majority of articles deal with Indigenous peoples in Canada, it also publishes articles dealing with Indigenous peoples world-wide. Full Text: 06/01/2013 to present.
Journal of American Indian Education
Publishes papers directly related to the education of American Indian/Alaska Natives. In Gale: Full-text coverage: March 22, 2015 - Current
American Indian and Alaska Native Mental Health Research
The journal of the National Center for American Indian and Alaska Native Mental Health Research (U.S.) Exclusively about American Indian & Alaska Native health. Full Text: 11/01/2003 to present
The Fourth World Journal
Publishes ideas and analysis about and by writers from some of the world's more than six thousand Fourth World nations. Explains world events or activities that address climate change and the environment, political change, history, economics, social change, traditional knowledge systems and the creative arts. Full-text coverage:
June 22, 2012 - Current
Wicazo Sa Review
Wicazo Sa Review is an interdisciplinary journal devoted to the mission of assisting Indigenous peoples of the Americas in taking possession of their own intellectual and creative pursuits. During the past two decades, American Indian Studies has emerged as a central arena in which Indigenous populations in the United States define the cultural, religious, legal, and historical parameters of scholarship and creativity essential to the ongoing process of decolonization and to survival in the modern world. Founded in 1985, Wicazo Sa Review is a journal in support of this particular type of scholarship, providing inquiries into the Indian past and its relationship to the vital present.

Indigenous & Native American Studies

Books

You'll use the library catalog to search for books on your topic. Below are just a few examples of books at the MJC Library. Feel free to use some of the useful keywords for your book search.

Videos

We have several video databases at the MJC Library and some other databases that include videos in addition to the other materials they provide. Below are a few examples.

Other Resources

Cultural Survival Quarterly Magazine
Cultural Survival is an Indigenous-led NGO and U.S. registered non-profit that advocates for Indigenous Peoples' rights and supports Indigenous communities’ self-determination, cultures, and political resilience, since 1972.
Treaties Between the United States and Native Americans
From the Avalon Project at Lillian Goldman Law Library, Yale University
Native American Religions
Texts of Native American religion, mythology and folklore. Part of the larger Sacred Texts site.
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project
The Project was created as a cooperative effort between the University of Oklahoma College of Law Library and the National Indian Law Library (NILL), to provide access to the tribal constitutions, codes, and other legal documents.
Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center
This project aims to develop a comprehensive searchable database of Carlisle Indian School resources.
The Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History
This archive provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes.
Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian Photographic Images
"The North American Indian by Edward S. Curtis is one of the most significant and controversial representations of traditional American Indian culture ever produced... In over 2000 photogravure plates and narrative, Curtis portrayed the traditional customs and lifeways of eighty Indian tribes."
First Nations Collection
The First Nations Collection of the Southern Oregon Digital Archives consists of documents, books and articles relating to the indigenous peoples of this bioregion.