Research Guides: Ethnic Studies: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

MJC Library & Learning Center subscribes to online databases that provide access to full-text magazines, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, and more. To search from home you will first need to log in using your MJC credentials.

Find articles on Ethnic Studies topics from academic journals, serials like newspapers and magazines, and online databases. The following resources on this page are suggested for Ethnic Studies research.

Each tab also contains links to subject-specific academic journals & databases.

photo: Some rights reserved by M.Minton

Databases

The library provides access to many databases. Databases are collections of resources of all types -- journal articles, ebooks, primary sources, film, and more.

EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It includes more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Database also includes business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters. Also includes laws from the U.S., all 50 states, and law reviews
Nexis Uni includes:
• Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts,
newswires and blogs
• Local, regional, national and international newspapers
with deep archives
• Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and
statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions
since 1790
• Unparalleled business information on more than
80 million U.S. and international companies and more
than 75 million executives

View online tutorials here
Milestone Documents This link opens in a new window
Use this database to explore more than 1,500 of the most-studied primary source documents from U.S. and world history, accompanied by in-depth commentary and analysis from experts.
American History This link opens in a new window
This is one of our History Research Center databases, which is an indispensable resource for student research. Spanning our nation’s history—from prehistory to the present day—American History was developed and curated by leading editors and scholars in the study of American history. It is composed of a variety of research tools, including articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.

Articles

You will use one of the MJC Library databases to find articles on your topic.

You can start with one of our Databases for Background Reading or our Databases Covering Many Subjects. Scroll down below the big Start Your Research Here box to select a Database by Subject, Database by Type, or Find a Database by Name.

You'll find our databases by clicking the button below:

Selected Journals

These journals are all available via the EBSCOhost databases; many of them are scholarly, peer-reviewed resources. Some of them do not offer the current year's worth of articles due to restrictions on licensing.

Journal of Ethnic & Migration Studies
Contains research on all forms of migration & its consequences. 07/01/1998 to present (with a 18 month delay).
Ethnohistory
Articles, review articles and book reviews in all areas of ethnohistory. Full Text: 4/01/1954 To Present (With A 12 month Delay).
International Journal of Cultural Policy
Provides an outlet for an interdisciplinary & international exploration of the meaning, function & impact of cultural policies. 1/01/2002 to present (with a 15 month delay)
Nations & Nationalism
Responds to the growing research interest in nationalism that has been simulated by the increasing proliferation of nationalist movements throughout the world. 01/01/2001 to present (with a 12 month delay)
Cultural Studies
Explores the relation between cultural practices, everyday life, material, economic, political, geographical, & historical contexts. 07/01/1998 to present (with a 15 month delay)
Patterns of Prejudice
A forum for exploring the historical roots and contemporary varieties of prejudice. Coverage of the language and construction of race, nation, color and ethnicity, as well as the linkages between these categories. Full text 03/01/2003 to present (with a 15 month delay).
Social Identities
An interdisciplinary and international forum for theorizing issues at the interface of social identities in the context of the transforming political economies and cultures of postmodern and postcolonial societies. Full text 02/01/1995 to present (with a 15 month delay)

Other Resources

Calisphere
Calisphere is your gateway to California’s remarkable digital collections. Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more. The collections in Calisphere have been digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
Found SF
FoundSF is a participatory website inviting historians, writers, activists, and curious citizens of all kinds to share their unique San Francisco stories, images, and videos from past and present. There are over 1,900 screens here presenting primary sources, essays, images, and videos. View by "Population" and select your specific interest (e.g, African American, Latino, etc.)