Research Guides: Ethnic Studies: Chicana/o/x and Latina/o/x Studies

Databases for Chicanx/Latinx Studies

Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find primary sources and brief overview articles regarding the Latino American experience from pre-contact Aztec and Maya societies to 21st century political issues like recent immigration law to cultural themes like coming-of-age rituals, music, literature, and cuisine.
World Folklore and Folklife This link opens in a new window
Covers broad subjects like literature, gender roles, and cultural studies by exploring international topics like celebrations, rituals, myths, religion, beliefs, urban legends, music, dance, holidays, food, tales, and traditional arts and crafts

Selected Journals

Chicano/Latino Law Review
Peer-reviewed, provides a forum for the discussion of central issues affecting the Latino community. Full Text: 5/01/2008 to present
Berkeley La Raza law journal
Peer reviewed; contains full text of documents dedicated to the scholarly review of legal issues affecting the Latino/a community in the US. Full text to present.
more...less...
In Nexis-Uni database. Go to Advanced Search > Legal > Law Reviews and Journals > Law Reviews and Journals. Enter your search term and make sure to type Berkeley La Raza Law Journal in the "Source" field.
The Journal of Latino-Latin American Studies
Peer-reviewed journal in Gale Databases
Studies in Latin American Popular Culture
Peer reviewed journal publishing articles on Latin American popular culture: film, television, radio, comic books, photonovelas, etc.
Journal of Latinos and education
Peer reviewed; contains analysis, discussion, critique, and dissemination of educational issues that impact Latinos. Full text 01/01/2002 to present (with a 15 Month delay)
Centro Journal
Peer-reviewed journal dedicated entirely to the field of Puerto Rican Studies. Full Text: 10/01/1999 to present
Journal of Latino/Latin American Studies (JOLLAS)
Peer reviewed; full-text September 22, 2005 - current; exceptions to full-text: 2006, 2010-2011, 2017, 2022.
Harvard Latin American Law Review
Peer reviewed forum for the scholarly discussion of legal issues affecting Latinos & Latinas in the United States. Full Text: 03/01/2005 to present

Keywords

Keyword Searching

Using the right search words will make your research much more successful. Below you'll find keywords that I've found useful searching for information relevant to Chicana/o/x and Latina/o/x studies, and I hope you'll find them useful too.

Hispanic American
Mexican American
Latin American
Chicana or Chicana
Chican@ or Latin@
el movimiento
ethnic identity
social conditions
ethnicity
ethnic relations
race relations

Chicana/o/x & Latina/o/x Studies

Books

You'll use the library catalog to search for books on your topic. Below are just a few examples of books at the MJC Library. Feel free to use some of the useful keywords for your book search.

Videos

We have several video databases at the MJC Library and some other databases that include videos in addition to the other materials they provide.

Other Resources

New Directions in Chicanx and Latinx Studies
A comprehensive, peer-reviewed introductory textbook written by scholars from the California Community Colleges and California State University. The content, spanning ten chapters, is guided by intersectional, transnational, and relational frameworks that build on current and emergent work in Chicanx and Latinx Studies.
Digital Public Library of America: Hispanics
Includes images, texts, and video clips.
Hispanics on the Central Coast
A collection based on a photo essay depicting contributions of Hispanic people to community life in San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara and Ventura counties. The photographs were borrowed from a number of museums and libraries and from individuals within the Hispanic communities.
Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964.
UFW - United Farm Workers (Cesar Chavez)
Founded in 1962 by Cesar Chavez, the United Farm Workers of America is the nation's first successful and largest farm workers union currently active in 10 states, chiefly California. Includes a film and photo archive.
Onda Latina - The Mexican American Experience
The Onda Latina Collection consists of 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982.
California Cultures: Hispanic Americans
The items in these 7 exhibitions trace the history of Hispanic Americans in California from the Mission system and Californios into the 20th century: Mexican immigration into California, the farmworkers' labor struggles, and the Chicano Civil Rights movement and La Raza, which also resulted in an explosion of cultural art.
more...less...
Be sure to check out the Galería De La Raza archives: https://calisphere.org/collections/9080/
Library of Congress: A Latinx Resource Guide: Civil Rights Cases and Events in the United States
This research guide from the Hispanic Reading Room at the Library of Congress focuses on 20th and 21st century court cases, legislation, and events that had important impacts on civil rights in Chicana/o/x, Hispanic, Latina/o/x, Mexican-American, and Puerto Rican communities the United States.