Research Guides: Ethnic Studies: Asian American & Pacific Islander Studies

Articles & Databases for AAPI Studies

Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Go to Topic Center > Asia and Oceania

Selected Journals

Asian American law journal
AALJ is one of only two law journals in the US focusing on Asian American communities in its publication agenda. In Nexis Uni; full text available from 1995.
Asian American Policy Review
Dedicated solely to analyzing public policy issues facing the Asian Pacific American community. Full Text: 01/01/2004 to 03/01/2020
Asian Pacific American Law Journal
Focuses exclusively on the legal issues affecting APA communities; seeks to facilitate discourse on issues affecting South Asian, Southeast Asian, East Asian, and Pacific Islander communities in the United States. Full Text: 09/01/2007 to present
Chinese America: History & Perspectives
Original contributions and thematic issues on all aspects of Chinese American history and culture. Full Text: 01/01/1997 to present.
Contemporary Pacific
Covers contemporary developments in the entire Pacific Islands region, including Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia. Features articles that examine social, economic, political, ecological, and cultural topics. 03/01/2003 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Race and justice.
Race and Justice serves as a forum for scholarship on race, ethnicity, and justice. Of particular interest are policy-oriented papers that examine how race/ethnicity intersects with justice system outcomes across the globe. It aims to test or expand theoretical perspectives exploring the intersection of race/ethnicity, class, gender, and justice. In Nexis-Uni database, Nexis Uni. Full text available from 01/01/2019.

Keywords

Subject Searching

The following subjects provide a good starting point for your research of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders:

Afghan Americans.
American Samoa.
American Samoa--Social life and customs.
Asian Americans.
Bangladeshi Americans.
Cambodian Americans.
Chinese Americans.
East Asian Americans.
East Indian Americans.
Filipino Americans.
Guam
Indonesian Americans.
Japanese Americans.
Korean Americans.
Laotian Americans.
Northern Mariana Islands.
Pacific Islanders.
Pacific Islanders--American Samoa.
Pacific Islander Americans.
Pakistani Americans.
South Asian Americans.
Southeast Asian Americans.
Thai Americans.
Tonga.
Vietnamese Americans.

Asian American & Pacific Islander Studies

Books

You'll use the library catalog to search for books on your topic. Below are just a few examples of books at the MJC Library. Feel free to use some of the useful keywords for your book search.

Videos

We have several video databases at the MJC Library and some other databases that include videos in addition to the other materials they provide. Below are a few examples.

Other Resources

Asian Americans Then and Now: Linking Past to Present
From the Center for Global Education at Asia Society.
Guide to the Chinese in California Virtual Collection
This site "illustrates nineteenth and early twentieth century Chinese immigration to California through about 8,000 images and pages of primary source materials." Resources drawn from collections at The Bancroft Library, University of California Berkeley; The Ethnic Studies Library, University of California Berkeley; and The California Historical Society, San Francisco.
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive (JARDA)
Documents the experience of Japanese Americans in WWII internment camps. Primary source materials include photographs, documents, manuscripts, paintings, drawings, letters, and oral histories. From Calisphere.
Filipino American Library Collection
The Filipino American Library Collection consists of materials owned by the Filipino American Library in Historic Filipinotown that were transferred to the University of Southern California Special Collections in 2017.