Research Guides: Ethnic Studies: African-American & Black Studies

Databases & Articles for African-American/Black Studies

African-American History This link opens in a new window
Why search here? This is one of our History Research Center databases, which covers more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture, with tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines.
What's included: eBooks, primary sources, images, videos, and timelines
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Use this database to find primary sources and brief overview articles to explore themes in the African American experience from African origins to the present day.
What's included: Content is compiled from a variety of sources, including ABC-CLIO's award-winning books, recognized scholars and writers in various fields, educators, and professional development specialists.

Selected Journals

Crisis
Feature articles, commentary and profiles exploring the full spectrum of black thought and examining a wide range of critical issues of concern to blacks; founded by Dr. William Edward Burghardt DuBois. Full Text: 06/01/1993 to present
Race and Justice
Race and Justice serves as a forum for scholarship on race, ethnicity, and justice. Of particular interest are policy-oriented papers that examine how race/ethnicity intersects with justice system outcomes across the globe. It aims to test or expand theoretical perspectives exploring the intersection of race/ethnicity, class, gender, and justice. In Nexis-Uni database, Nexis Uni. Full text available from 01/01/2019.
Black Scholar
Presents African-American essays on a broad range of issues of concern to scholars in sociology, history, literature, political science, health, art, women's studies and ethnic studies. Full text 06/01/1991 to present (with a 15 month delay)
Harvard BlackLetter Law Journal
Focuses on the intersection of race, class, gender, sexuality, and the law. Full text 03/01/2005 to present

African-American & Black Studies

Books

You'll use the library catalog to search for books on your topic. Below are just a few examples of books at the MJC Library. Feel free to use some of the useful keywords for your book search.

Videos

We have several video databases at the MJC Library and some other databases that include videos in addition to the other materials they provide. Below are a few examples.

Other Resources

BlackPast
BlackPast is dedicated to providing reliable information on the history of Black people across the globe, and especially in North America.
The Green Book
22 digitized editions of The Negro Motorist Green Book, a travel guide published between 1936 and 1966 that listed hotels, restaurants, etc. where black travelers would be welcome. Visit Navigating The Green Book to visualize a trip using data extracted from the Green Books by the New York Public Library.
Mapping Inequality: Redlining in New Deal America
Mapping Inequality introduces viewer to the records of the Home Owners' Loan Corporation on a scale that is unprecedented. Here you can browse more than 150 interactive maps and thousands of "area descriptions."