Work, Economy, & Families - SOCSC 105 - Global Women's Studies - Mo - Research Guides at Modesto Junior College Library

Key Search Words

Use the words below to search for useful information in books including eBooks and articles at the MJC Library.

child brides
mail order brides
matriarchy
motherhood economic conditions
motherhood penalty
patriarchy
sex discrimination in employment
wage gap
women economic conditions
women employment
work and family
working mothers

To access eBooks if you're off campus, you'll need to log in just like you do for your MJC email and Canvas courses.

Start Here: Background Reading

Doing some background reading at the beginning of your research helps you understand your topic right from the start. You'll be able to put your topic in context and create research questions that will drive your search for information to support the points you want to make. In addition, when you begin hunting and gathering information, you’ll know if what you’re finding is relevant and useful.

The list of sources for background reading below provide broad topic overviews to help you understand and place your topic in context.

All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.

If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in just like you do for your email or Canvas.

Databases to Get You Started:

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Use this database when you want to explore your topic from a global perspective or to analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world with a global awareness. You'll find news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
This is the resource for finding original, comprehensive reporting and analysis to get background information on issues in the news. It provides overviews of topics related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy in America.

Check out these eBooks @ MJC

The Cost of Being Female
Call Number: eBook
Encyclopedia of Motherhood
Call Number: eBook
For the Family? How Class and Gender Shape Women's Work
Call Number: eBook
Misogyny in American Culture [2 Volumes]
Call Number: eBook
Sociology of Work
Call Number: eBook
Women's Lives Around the World
Call Number: eBook

Find focused information in library databases

Now that you've completed your background reading and have an idea of the points you want to make, you'll use the resources below to help you explore your topic further and to answer your research questions.

All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.

If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in just like you do for your email or Canvas.

Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Use this database when you want topical, in-depth coverage of world history from antiquity to the present. Read about the background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for the major topics in history from every region of the world. This is a great database for finding primary sources.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
This is a great database to use when you want to explore different viewpoints on controversial or hot-button issues. It includes reports on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Use the search or browse topics by subject or A to Z.
World News Digest This link opens in a new window
Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the Facts On File World News Digest in print. This archival record of domestic and international news covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940 to the present and is updated weekly
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text of editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources. This is your source for The Modesto Bee from January 1989 to the present. Also includes in-depth special reports and hot topics from around the country.
To access The Modesto Bee, limit your search to that publication.
Watch this short video to learn how to find The Modesto Bee.

Featured Web Sites

Use these Websites below to explore your topic

Google Scholar

In addition, search Google Scholar to find scholarly information on the Web.

Films & Video @MJC

These videos come from an MJC Library Database named, Films on Demand. Once you click the image, you'll need to login just like you do for all of our other databases.

Breaking the Wall of Gender Inequality: How Gender Balance Can Transform the Global Economy

This video explores why gender equality will be a key condition for sustainable development – and how it can prepare the global economy for a more human-centered growth.

Gender Wage Gap: Supply & Demand

Research by the Cato Institute explodes the myth of the gender wage gap. The findings showed that overall male median income exceeds women's because many men work at jobs women will not or cannot do. An ABC News Production.

The Trouble with Working Women: An Inquiry Into Inequity Between the Sexes

This is a two-video series by the BBC that explores women's success and earnings potential.