Use the words below to search for useful information in books including eBooks and articles at the MJC Library.
To access eBooks if you're off campus, you'll need to log in using your MJC student ID (without the W) and your six-digit birth date.
Doing some background reading at the beginning of your research helps you understand your topic right from the start. You'll be able to put your topic in context and create research questions that will drive your search for information to support the points you want to make. In addition, when you begin hunting and gathering information, you’ll know if what you’re finding is relevant and useful.
The list of sources for background reading below provide broad topic overviews to help you understand and place your topic in context.
|
All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff. If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in just like you do for your email or Canvas. |
Why search here? Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
What's included: Gale eBooks is comprised of subject, specialized encyclopedias with articles written by scholars and experts.
Why search here? Use this database when you want to explore your topic from a global perspective or to analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world with a global awareness.
What's included: You'll find news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more.
Women and War in the 21st Century
Twenty-three countries currently allow women to serve in front-line combat positions and others with a high likelihood of direct enemy contact. This book examines how these decisions did or did not evolve in 47 countries. This timely and fascinating book explores how different countries have determined to allow women in the military to take on combat roles--whether out of a need for personnel, a desire for the military to reflect the values of the society, or the opinion that women improve military effectiveness--or, in contrast, have disallowed such a move on behalf of the state. In addition, many countries have insurgent or dissident factions, in that have led armed resistance to state authority in which women have been present, requiring national militaries and peacekeepers to engage them, incorporate them, or disarm and deradicalize them. This country-by country analysis of the role of women in conflicts includes insightful essays on such countries as Afghanistan, China, Germany, Iraq, Israel, Russia, and the United States. Each essay provides important background information to help readers to understand the cultural and political contexts in which women have been integrated into their countries' militaries, have engaged in combat during the course of conflict, and have come to positions of political power that affect military decisions. Delineates the ways in which women are incorporated into national militaries in both the United States and countries around the world Offers in each entry the distinct national context in which countries have decided to employ women in warfare Reveals how different nations choose to include or exclude women from the military, providing key insight into each nation's values and priorities Examines how governments treat women serving in combat: battlefield experience can "earn" a woman citizenship or be cause for shunning her, depending on the state
Gender, War, and Militarism
This compelling, interdisciplinary compilation of essays documents the extensive, intersubjective relationships between gender, war, and militarism in 21st-century global politics. Feminist scholars have long contended that war and militarism are fundamentally gendered. Gender, War, and Militarism: Feminist Perspectives provides empirical evidence, theoretical innovation, and interdisciplinary conversation on the topic, while explicitly_and uniquely_considering the links between gender, war, and militarism. Essentially an interdisciplinary conversation between scholars studying gender in political science, anthropology, and sociology, the essays here all turn their attention to the same questions. How are war and militarism gendered? Seventeen innovative explanations of different intersections of the gendering of global politics and global conflict examine the theoretical relationship between gender, militarization, and security; the deployment of gender and sexuality in times of conflict; sexual violence in war and conflict; post-conflict reconstruction; and gender and militarism in media and literary accounts of war. Together, these essays make a coherent argument that reveals that, although it takes different forms, gendering is a constant feature of 21st-century militarism. 17 essays by top feminist scholars from across disciplines An introduction and conclusion explaining the book's theoretical framework and key insights Tables and charts A bibliography
Sites of Violence
In conflict zones from Iraq and Afghanistan to Guatemala and Somalia, the rules of war are changing dramatically. Distinctions between battlefield and home, soldier and civilian, state security and domestic security are breaking down. In this especially timely book, a powerful group of international authors doing feminist research brings the highly gendered and racialized dimensions of these changes into sharp relief. In essays on nationalism, the political economy of conflict, and the politics of asylum, they investigate what happens when the body, household, nation, state, and economy become sites at which violence is invoked against people. In particular, these hard-hitting essays move us forward in our understanding of violence against women?how it is perpetrated, survived, and resisted. They explore the gendered politics of ethno-nationalism in Sri Lanka, the post-Yugoslav states, and Israel and Palestine. They consider "honor killings" in Iraqi Kurdistan, armed conflict in the Sudan, and geographies of violence in Ghana. This volume augments feminist analysis on conflict zones and contributes to transnational coalition-building and feminist organizing.
Violence Against Women
In Violence Against Women, award-winning author Walter S. DeKeseredy offers a passionate but well-documented sociological overview of a sobering problem. He starts by outlining the scope of the challenge and debunks current attempts to label intimate violence as gender neutral. He then lays bare the structural practices that sustain this violence, leading to a discussion of long- and short-term policies to address the issue. DeKeseredy includes an examination of male complicity and demonstrates how boys and men can change their roles. Throughout, he responds to myths that dismiss threats to women's health and safety and provides an impassioned call to action for women, men, and policymakers.
The Victimization of Women
In The Victimization of Women, Michelle Meloy and Susan Miller present a balanced, comprehensive, and objective summary of the most significant research on the victimizations, violence, and victim politics that disproportionately affect women. They examine the history of violence againstwomen, the surrounding debates, the legal reforms and justice system outcomes, the related media and social-service responses, and the current science on intimate partner violence, stalking, sexual harassment, sexual assault, and rape. Plus, they augment these victimization findings with originalresearch on women convicted of domestic battery and men convicted of sexual abuse and other sex-related offenses. In these new data the authors explore the unanticipated consequences associated with changes to the laws governing domestic violence and the newer forms of sex-offender legislation. Bothof these investigations are based on qualitative data that involve in-depth offender-based interviews that probe the circumstances surrounding the arrests and victimizations involved in the cases, the significant legal issues, and their experiences with the criminal justice system.
Encyclopedia of Religion
This second edition of this highly-regarded reference work, will be the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of a classic work to make it relevant to the questions and interests of readers, whether students, specialists, or laypersons. Be sure to search for the terms: women and violence.
Now that you've completed your background reading and have an idea of the points you want to make, you'll use the resources below to help you explore your topic further and to answer your research questions.
|
All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff. If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in just like you do for your email or Canvas. |
Why search here? When you want to find broad coverage on almost any topic you need to research at MJC, use Gale databases to search over 35 databases simultaneously.
What's included: Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Why search here? Search 22 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.
What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Why search here? Use this database when you want topical, in-depth coverage of world history from antiquity to the present. Read about the background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for the major topics in history from every region of the world. This is a great database for finding primary sources.
What's included: You'll find pro/con articles, timelines, and primary sources.
Why search here? This is a great database to use when you want to explore different viewpoints on controversial or hot-button issues.
What's included: It includes pro/con articles, court cases, primary sources, videos, media, editorials, and news on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Use the search or browse topics by subject or A to Z.
Why search here? Use Access World News when you need to find current news stories. It's especially useful for local and California news. This is your source for The Modesto Bee from January 1989 to the present.
What's included: Articles from of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources. It includes in-depth special reports and hot topics from around the country.
In addition, search Google Scholar to find scholarly information on the Web.
These videos come from an MJC Library Database named, Films on Demand. Once you click the image, you'll need to login just like you do for all of our other databases.
Women on the Frontline
First aired on BBC World TV, this critically acclaimed series presented by Annie Lennox and shot by all-women crews is a brutally honest account of a silent war of violence against females, being waged around the world. The seven films in Women on the Frontline tell the personal stories of courageous women who have survived abuses and want their voices to be heard. Each video is approximately 20 mins. long.
Women in Conflict
Women are the most affected group in war torn countries. Sexual violence incidents increase during war and women begin having "survival sex", or sleeping with men to get basic human needs. Women and children are the majority of refugees and collateral damage in war.
Women and War
From the Newseum in Washington, this is the beginning of a month-long series of reports on empowering women in developing countries. In conflict areas, women are seen as peacemakers where there has long been war.