Scientific Articles * - ZOOL101 - Introduction to Zoology - Martin - Research Guides at Modesto Junior College Library

Key Periodicals

How Do I Find Scholarly Articles?

You'll be finding your scholarly articles from a combination of sources, including:

library databases (listed in this research guide or accessible from the L & LC website)
open-source repositories and databases
journal websites

Key Periodicals

Primary/Original Research

American Midland Naturalist
Scholarly, peer reviewed. Full text 07/01/1996 to 10/01/2022
Biological Bulletin
A bulletin covering biological research articles that are worldwide in scope for the academic audience. Full-text coverage: August 1, 1994 - October 1, 2020
Wildlife Biology
Presents information on all areas of wildlife science with the primary task of creating the scientific basis for the enhancement of conservation and management practices for wildlife species and their environments. Full Text: 3/01/2010 to present
PLoS ONE
Reports on primary research from many scientific disciplines. Full Text: 1/01/2008 to present
Journal of Zoology
Publishes high-quality research papers on all aspects of zoology. Full Text: 01/01/2006 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Animal Cells & Systems
Publishes original papers that cover diverse aspects of biological sciences including Systematics and Evolution, Ecology and Behavior, Physiology, Biochemistry and Biophysics, Developmental Biology, and more. Full Text: 03/01/2010 to present
Mammal Review
Mammal Review is the official scientific periodical of the Mammal Society. Full Text: 3/01/1998 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Zoological Journal of the Linnean Society
Presents original papers on zoology with an emphasis on the diversity, systematics, interrelationships, and habits of animals both living and extinct. Full Text: 01/01/2003 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Frontiers in Zoology
Frontiers in Zoology is an open access, peer-reviewed online journal publishing high quality research articles and reviews on all aspects of animal life.
African Zoology
Full Text: 01/01/1994 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Cladistics
Covers theory, method, the philosophical aspects of systematics, and the role of systematic and evolutionary studies in the investigation of biogeographical and other general biological phenomena. Full Text: 02/01/2004 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Animal Biology
Publishes studies with an experimental or functional approach to topics in behavioral and physiological ecology, ecological and functional morphology, environmental physiology and biosystematics. Full Text: 02/01/1999 to present (with a 12 Month delay)

Substantive Periodicals

Recommended Databases

Recommended MJC Library Databases

Today's Science This link opens in a new window
Reports explaining important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology. Considered a secondary source because it reports on primary research. BACKGROUND READING.

EBSCO Databases
Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets. Find primary research by selecting the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" checkbox in the search options. You must still evaluate each article.

Gale OneFile: Science This link opens in a new window
The Gale collection includes more than 1.6 million articles; key subjects covered include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology. Primary and secondary sources can be found.
Previously known as General Science Collection
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a comprehensive database that includes academic, peer-reviewed journals in many different subject areas. Contains primary and secondary.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
You can use Gale Databases for virtually any research project at MJC. Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets. Contains primary and secondary articles.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to top-tier biomedical and health journals, making it an essential resource for doctors, nurses, etc. MEDLINE also covers life sciences that are vital to biomedical practitioners, researchers, and educators, including some aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science as well as biophysics and chemistry. Increased coverage of life sciences began in 2000. Primary and secondary sources available.

Open-Source Repositories

Open-Source Databases

CORE
CORE is a multidisciplinary aggregator of open access research. It allows users to search more than 66 million open access articles. While most of these link to the full-text article on the original publisher's site, five million records are hosted directly on CORE.

ScienceOpen
Functioning as a research and publishing network, ScienceOpen offers open access to more than 28 million articles in all areas of science. Although you do need to register to view the full text of the articles, registration is free.

Directory of Open Access Journals
A multidisciplinary, community-curated directory, the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) gives researchers access to high-quality, peer-reviewed journals. It has archived more than two million articles from 9,519 journals, allowing you to either browse by subject or search by keyword.

Get Help Connecting from Off Campus

All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, and staff.

Why Login

Although the MJC Library would like to offer open access to all of our research resources, license agreements with the publishers of our databases and eBooks require that only MJC students, faculty, and staff be given off-campus access to these resources.

How to Login

Once you click on the name of a database, you login just like you do for your MJC email or Canvas courses.

Troubleshooting

If you have trouble connecting to one of our databases, first make sure you have Cookies enabled on your Web browser.
If you have problems connecting to databases that you could previously, make sure you have cleared your Cookies, History, and Temporary Internet Files.

Questions?

Get help at Ask a Librarian