Intellectual Wellness - ENGL 100 - Miranda - Wellness - Research Guides at Modesto Junior College Library

Search terms

Intellectual Wellness encompasses curiosity, life-long learning, awareness of current events, reading books, magazines and newspapers. For this dimension of wellness, consider researching specific current issues of societal importance, such as the following, which all link to their own research guides:

You can also study topics like:

curiosity
life-long learning
creativity

Keep up with current events and news by reading the New York Times. As an MJC student, you have free access to the digital version. The link below gives instructions for how to access the newspaper.

How to access the NY Times

Library Databases

Databases for background reading on current events and issues:

Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
This is a great database to use when you want to explore different viewpoints on controversial or hot-button issues. It includes reports on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Use the search or browse topics by subject or A to Z.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
This is the resource for finding original, comprehensive reporting and analysis to get background information on issues in the news. It provides overviews of topics related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy in America.

General databases for substantive and scholarly articles:

Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.

eBooks @ MJC

What the Best College Students Do by Ken Bain
Publication Date: 2012
See Chapter 7, Curiosity and Endless Education
Racism, not Race: answers to frequently asked questions by Joseph L. Graves, Jr.
ISBN: 9780231553735
Publication Date: 2022
Two distinguished scientists tackle common misconceptions about race, human biology, and racism.
The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness by Michelle Alexander
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020 (10th Anniversary Edition)
Homelessness in America: a Reference Handbook by Michele Wakin
ISBN: 9781440874864
Publication Date: 2022
Examines the history of homelessness in the U.S., shining a light on the key issues, events, policies, and attitudes that contribute to homelessness and shape the experience of being homeless.
The Climate Change Debate: a reference handbook by David E. Newton
Publication Date: 2020
Covers the topic of climate change from the earliest days of planet Earth to the present day.
We the People: the 500 year battle over who is American by Benjamin Railton
Publication Date: 2019
Argues that throughout our history two competing yet interconnected concepts have battled to define our national identity and community: exclusionary and inclusive visions of who gets to be an American.

Find more books on your intellectual interests in the MJC Library's eBook collection:

eBook Collection: EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search our collection of thousands of eBooks the MJC Library owns through EBSCOhost.