Skip to main content

MATH105 - Structure of Mathematics 1 - Cortes: Home

Help for students for Math105 project

Your Assignment

The project for this class will be based on a math teaching-related topic of your choice from what we are studying this semester. You will need to choose from ONE of the following:

  1. A written detailed lesson plan for face-to-face teaching in which you describe how to use a particular set of physical manipulatives during the lesson so that at least two types of learning styles are engaged, one must be kinesthetic learning style (you must cite a source from an article such as Teaching Children Mathematics or Mathematics Teacher). Length: 3-5 pages
  2. A video in which you show your colleagues how to use virtual manipulatives or a virtual math game from Calculation Nation that encourages learning in the lesson or game so that at least two types of learning styles are engaged, one must be kinesthetic learning style (you must cite an article from Teaching Children Mathematics or Mathematics Teacher). Length: 5-8 minutes
  3. A paper or  presentation (through Google Slides or PowerPoint with you talking through the presentation) on a topic or mathematician from the list on page 3. 

Length: paper 3-5 pages or presentation 5-8 minutes

Step One: Familiarize Yourself With Your Topic

Everyone: Do Preliminary Reading

Begin your project by doing some background reading on your issue. Preliminary reading helps you:

  • achieve a basic understanding of your topic; 
  • begin to identify interesting specific questions that will form the backbone of your project; and
  • start to acquire vital search terms you need in order to explore your topic more fully. 

Your instructor may have already given you some background information. 

Google Web Search

Step Two: Find, Read, and Reflect on Your Sources

Find articles on the topics that you identified in Step 1.

  • Do a comprehensive search utilizing all the sources below; leave no stone unturned
  • Print/save/email the sources you find as you go to avoid backtracking
  • Read your sources several times, highlighting relevant information and making notes as you go.
  • If you find sources that will help others in your team, SHARE THEM.
  • If you have trouble finding the appropriate type or number of sources: MEET WITH A RESEARCH LIBRARIAN

If you've chosen #1 or 2:

If you've chosen #3

Step Three: Write Your Paper

  • Make an appointment with Writing Center staff at least once. They will help you get started, proceed, and/or finish. This is a free service that you should always utilize to maximize your success.
  • Utilize the MJC Library & Learning Center's LEARN TO CITE page to aid with APA or MLA. A research librarian can provide face-to-face assistance with formatting and citing as well. 
  • If you're doing a presentation as part of this assignment, identify the main points to share. Find engaging audio/video files. 

 

Stella Beratlis, Research Librarian

Stella Beratlis's picture
Stella Beratlis
Contact:

Need help now? We have Research Drop-In Hours every day: go to the Ask a Librarian page to get immediate help.

Fall 2020 office hours: Tues/Thurs 10-11 AM https://cccconfer.zoom.us/j/92799276793

Chat: If you see the "Ask Stella" button, that means I'm available to chat--drop me a line!

If you call me, pls leave a voicemail and it will be routed to my email inbox. My goal is to respond to all emails and calls within 24 hours Mon-Thurs. If you call or email late on Friday or during weekends/holidays, I'll reply the next working day.

209-575-6245
Website Skype Contact: beratliss

Preliminary Reading

Peer Reviewed / Refereed Journals

What is a journal?

  • Scholarly journals exist to disseminate new & important information within an academic discipline or professional fiel.
  • Journal articles are written by experts who work within these disciplines and fields
  • Journal articles are aimed at an audience of other experts within that discipline or field
  • Journals often contain studies and experiments

Picture of an issue of JAMA Picture of an issue of JSWP

 

How can I identify a journal?

Look for: 

  • Author credentials such as advanced degrees and professional/academic affiliations
  • Articles that are often substantially longer than articles in magazines and newspapers
  • Heavy use of discipline-specific vocabulary and concepts. 
  • Extensive bibliographies of cited sources.

Where does peer review fit into all of this?

Peer review is a process that some  scholarly journal publishers use to ensure the articles they publish represent the best scholarship currently available. Peer-reviewed journals are sometimes called "refereed" journals. When an article is submitted to a peer-reviewed/refereed journal, the editors send it out to other scholars in the same field to get their opinion on the quality of the scholarship and its relevance and importance to the field. This means that when an article is finally published in a peer-reviewed publication, there is a consensus among experts that the information communicated in that article is of the highest quality.

Not all scholarly publications are peer-reviewed, though it is very common for professors to request peer-reviewed articles to ensure you are exposed to the most credible information within your discipline.

Journals sound intense!

The specific nature of journal articles, combined with the use of specialized vocabulary, means they are not always easy to read for the non-expert. It it is recommended that students have some basic knowledge about their topic before delving into scholarly information. This basic knowledge might be gleaned, for instance, from some of our Background Information databases.

 

Cite MLA

Annotated Bibliography - Due Oct 26 for at least 2 sources

An annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources you have used in the preparation of your research paper. Depending on your project or the assignment, in your annotations you may summarize, reflect on, or assess your sources. Your teacher should instruct you on the function of your annotations.

To learn more about annotated bibliographies click on the link below from Purdue OWL:

______________________________

Example of an Annotated Bibliography: (Click the paper to see the full bibliography)

 

Information Has Value