Research Guides: Abortion: Abortion Research

Abortion Research

Key Search Words

Use the words below to search for useful information in books and articles.

abortion
birth control
pro-choice movement
pro-life movement
reproductive rights
Roe v. Wade
Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Organization (Dobbs v. Jackson)

Start Learning About Your Topic

Background Reading:

It's important to begin your research learning something about your subject; in fact, you won't be able to create a focused, manageable thesis unless you already know something about your topic.

This step is important so that you will:

Begin building your core knowledge about your topic
Be able to put your topic in context
Create research questions that drive your search for information
Create a list of search terms that will help you find relevant information
Know if the information you’re finding is relevant and useful

If you're working from off campus, you'll be prompted to sign in if you aren't already logged in to your MJC email or Canvas. If you are prompted to sign in, use the same credentials you use for email and Canvas.

Most current background reading

Issues and Controversies: Should Women in the United States Have Access to Abortion?
June 2022 article (written after the Supreme Court overturned Roe v Wade) that explores both sides of the abortion debate.
Access World News: Abortion
The most recent news and opinion on abortion from US newspapers.

More sources for background information

CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Check the dates of results to be sure they are sufficiently current.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Authoritative background reading from specialized encyclopedias (a year or more old, so not good for the latest developments).
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Best database for exploring the topic from a global point of view.

Create Research Questions to Focus Your Topic

Choose the questions below that you find most interesting or appropriate for your assignment.

Why is abortion such a controversial issue?
What are the medical arguments for and against abortion?
What are the religious arguments for and against abortion?
What are the political arguments for and against abortion?
What are the cultural arguments for and against abortion?
What is the history of laws concerning abortion?
What are the current laws about abortion?
How are those who oppose access to abortion trying to affect change?
How are those who support access to abortion trying to affect change?
Based on what I have learned from my research, what do I think about the issue of abortion?

Featured Current News

State-by-State Abortion Laws
Updated regularly by the Guttmacher Institute
What the Data Says About Abortion in the U.S.
From the Pew Research Center in March of 2024, a look at the most recent available data about abortion from sources other than public opinion surveys.

Latest News on Abortion from Google News

Find Articles in Library Databases

All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.

Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Facts on File Databases This link opens in a new window
Facts on File databases include: Issues & Controversies, Issues & Controversies in History, Today's Science, and World News Digest.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to top-tier biomedical and health journals, making it an essential resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health, and health policy development.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text of editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources. This is your source for The Modesto Bee from January 1989 to the present. Also includes in-depth special reports and hot topics from around the country.
To access The Modesto Bee, limit your search to that publication.
Watch this short video to learn how to find The Modesto Bee.

Find Web Resources

Browse Featured Web Sites:

American Association of Pro-Life Obstetricians and Gynecologists
Medical information and anti-abortion rights advocacy.
American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
Use the key term "abortion" in the search box on this site for links to reports and statistics.
Guttmacher Institute
Statistics and policy papers with a world-wide focus from a "research and policy organization committed to advancing sexual and reproductive health and rights worldwide."
NARAL Pro-Choice America
This group advocates for pro-abortion rights legislation. Current information abortion laws in the U.S.
National Right to Life Committee
This group advocates for anti-abortion rights legislation in the U.S.

Find Books in the Library Catalog

Why Use Books:

Use books to read broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic. You can also use books to find primary sources, which are often published together in collections.

Where Do I Find Books?

You'll use the library catalog to search for books, ebooks, articles, and more.

OneSearch (Library Catalog)
OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.

What if MJC Doesn't Have What I Need?

If you need materials (books, articles, recordings, videos, etc.) that you cannot find in the library catalog, use our interlibrary loan service.

Interlibrary Loan
Borrowing materials from other libraries is simple and free.

Cite Your Sources

Your instructor should tell you which citation style they want you to use. Click on the appropriate link below to learn how to format your paper and cite your sources according to a particular style.