Embarking on a research project about the effects of climate change on a chosen animal species of the world requires navigation of complex scientific resources. This guide contains information to a) help you understand the types of sources you might encounter as you conduct research, including peer reviewed sources and what that means; b) help you locate your sources whether that is through library databases, mining bibliographies, or via Google Scholar; c) guide you in sourcing copyright-free images you can use for your presentations; and 4) help you understand how to cite your sources.
And while this research project may seem daunting, remember that your library's research team is your most valuable ally! We librarians are not just resource managers—we are navigators of scientific databases, scholarly publications, and research methodologies--and we can dramatically streamline your research process. So don't hesitate to reach out to us, especially when you need some extra support at any point in the process. I usually work from the East Library & Learning Center, while Mike Leamy is your West Campus librarian, available most mornings Monday through Thursday. But any one of the librarians can help you!
When you need help right away and don't have time to make an appointment or reach out to any specific librarian, don't forget we have 24/7 Chat, too. You can find all of those things at Ask a Librarian on the L & LC website.
Don't know what to write about? Get some ideas for your research topic by browsing the following websites and database:
Already have a topic? Do some academic background reading first and build from there. Be sure to note possible keywords (for example, the study of animal behavior is known as ethology).
Why search here? Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
What's included: Gale eBooks is comprised of subject, specialized encyclopedias with articles written by scholars and experts.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by 