Research Guides: ZOOL101: Global Climate Change and Its Impact on Animals Around the World: Scholarly Journals

Research Building Blocks 1.2: Scholarly Journals

What Is a Journal?

Scholarly journals exist to disseminate new & important information within an academic discipline or professional fiel.
Journal articles are written by experts who work within these disciplines and fields
Journal articles are aimed at an audience of other experts within that discipline or field
Journals often contain studies and experiments

Here are some examples:

How to Identify a Journal

Look for:

Author credentials such as advanced degrees and professional/academic affiliations
Articles that are often substantially longer than articles in magazines and newspapers
Heavy use of discipline-specific vocabulary and concepts.
Extensive bibliographies of cited sources.

Key Periodicals

How Do I Find Scholarly Articles?

The MJC Library's database are accessible from the L & LC website.

Zoology Journals at MJC

Primary/Original Research

American Midland Naturalist
Scholarly, peer reviewed. Full text 07/01/1996 to 10/01/2022
Biological Bulletin
A bulletin covering biological research articles that are worldwide in scope for the academic audience. Full-text coverage: August 1, 1994 - October 1, 2020
Conservation Biology
Conservation Biology, the flagship journal of the Society for Conservation Biology, is the leading journal in the field of conservation. Its ground-breaking research articles, essays, and reviews develop new theory and methods, define key problems, and propose solutions, exploring the social, ecological, and philosophical dimensions of the conservation of biological diversity. The journal offers globally relevant novel insights, approaches, and syntheses. Some articles are open access. Most are behind a paywall.
Conservation Biology (Archive; 2019 and older)
Accessible from MJC database JSTOR: Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection. Available from 05/01/1987 volume: 1 issue: 1. Most recent 6 year(s) not available.
Ecology
This journal is available through multiple database, but only the JSTOR: Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection
contains the newest up-to-date collection. Most recent 3 year(s) not available.
Science
Available through multiple databases, but only JSTOR: Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection has most up-to-date collection of issues. Most recent 6 year(s) not available.
Wildlife Biology
Presents information on all areas of wildlife science with the primary task of creating the scientific basis for the enhancement of conservation and management practices for wildlife species and their environments. Full Text: 3/01/2010 to present
PLoS ONE
Reports on primary research from many scientific disciplines. Full Text: 1/01/2008 to present
Journal of Zoology
Publishes high-quality research papers on all aspects of zoology. Full Text: 01/01/2006 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Animal Cells & Systems
Publishes original papers that cover diverse aspects of biological sciences including Systematics and Evolution, Ecology and Behavior, Physiology, Biochemistry and Biophysics, Developmental Biology, and more. Full Text: 03/01/2010 to present
Mammal Review
Mammal Review is the official scientific periodical of the Mammal Society. Full Text: 3/01/1998 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Zoological Journal of the Linnean Society
Presents original papers on zoology with an emphasis on the diversity, systematics, interrelationships, and habits of animals both living and extinct. Full Text: 01/01/2003 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Frontiers in Zoology
Frontiers in Zoology is an open access, peer-reviewed online journal publishing high quality research articles and reviews on all aspects of animal life.
African Zoology
Full Text: 01/01/1994 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Cladistics
Covers theory, method, the philosophical aspects of systematics, and the role of systematic and evolutionary studies in the investigation of biogeographical and other general biological phenomena. Full Text: 02/01/2004 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Animal Biology
Publishes studies with an experimental or functional approach to topics in behavioral and physiological ecology, ecological and functional morphology, environmental physiology and biosystematics. Full Text: 02/01/1999 to present (with a 12 Month delay)

Substantive Periodicals

Smithsonian
Available from 1990 volume: 21 issue: 3 in EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.
National Geographic
Full-text coverage: June 1, 1999 - Current.
(90 day delay due to publisher embargo period). Some text may not be reproducible due to publisher restrictions.
Audubon
From 2022.
Scientific American
Full Text: 01/01/2007 to present