Research Guides: Statistics: Local & State Statistics

Using Statistics in Your Writing

Purdue OWL: Statistics and Visuals
A handout which explains how to write with statistics including quick tips, writing descriptive statistics, writing inferential statistics, and using visuals with statistics.
The Writing Center at UNC-CH: Statistics
How to use statistics to make your argument as effectively as possible; from The Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Statistics Every Writer Should Know
The site describes itself as "a simple guide to understanding basic statistics, for journalists and other writers who might not know math"

Key Sources at MJC

Why Use Books:

Books can often include statistics about your topic.

Where Do I Find Books?

You'll use OneSearch (the library catalog) to search for books, ebooks, articles, and more.

OneSearch (Library Catalog)
OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.

Using Databases

Why Use Databases:

The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, videos, and more from thousands of respected publications. You can search these databases either by topic or for a specific article.

Using the Library's article databases ensures that you're using sources your instructors expect you to use, and you won't have to cull through millions of unrelated Web pages that will waste your time and energy.

All of these resources are free for you because you are a student at MJC. If you're working from anywhere off campus, you'll need to sign in. Once you click on the name of a database simply enter your student ID and six-digit birth date.

What if MJC Doesn't Have What I Need?

If you need materials (books, articles, recordings, videos, etc.) that you cannot find in the MJC Library catalog, use our interlibrary loan service.

Interlibrary Loan
Borrowing materials from other libraries is simple and free.

Web Resources - Regional Statistics

Use these reliable web sources below to find regional statistical information.

County Profiles
County statistics regarding job creation and economic trends from the California Center for Jobs & the Economy
California's Central Valley - USGS
Characteristics and facts from the California Water Science Center, which is part of the USGS.
U.S. Census Bureau: Population
Population statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau.
United States Census Publications
The United States Census provides a wealth of data on many aspects of the United States. Scroll down this publications page to find historical census data going back to the 1800s.
more...less...
You can learn a lot about a state or county by looking at the census for the decade about which you are researching.

Web Resources - California Statistics

Use these reliable web sources below to find state statistical information.

California Center for Jobs & the Economy
The California Center for Jobs and the Economy provides an objective and definitive source of information pertaining to job creation and economic trends in California.
California Economy at a Glance
Information about California's economy from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
California Economic Indicators
The California Economic Indicators page provides comprehensive information on the State and local labor markets. On this page you will find the most up-to-date labor force and unemployment data released by the Employment Development Department, as well as, economic indicators, analysis, and trends.
California Labor Market Information
The Labor Market Information Division (LMID) is the prime source of high quality and timely workforce and labor market information for the State of California. You can search by county.