Research Guides: World Religions: Find Books

Useful Subject Terms

Religions

Religion - Dictionaries

Judaism

Christianity

Catholicism

Baptists

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Jehovah's Witnesses

Other specific denominations can also be searched

Islam

Hinduism

Buddhism

Confucianism

Taiosm

Shinto

Sikhism

Neopaganism

Start With Background Reading

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World by Richard C. Martin
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Religion
One of the most important reference works of the millennium, the Encyclopedia of Religion has many articles covering religious rituals and ceremonies.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Edward A. Irons
From Buddhism in Afghanistan to Zen Buddhism, this book offers an in-depth overview of this fascinating religion.In approximately 700 A-to-Z entries.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices by Thomas Riggs (Editor)
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices, provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.
Global Religions by Mark Juergensmeyer (Editor)
The essays collected here provide brief and accessible introductions to the major world religions in their global contexts.

Using & Finding Books

Why Use Books:

Use books to read broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic. You can also use books to find primary sources, which are often published together in collections.

Where Do I Find Books?

You'll use the library catalog to search for books, ebooks, articles, and more.

OneSearch (Library Catalog)
OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.

What if MJC Doesn't Have What I Need?

If you need materials (books, articles, recordings, videos, etc.) that you cannot find in the library catalog, use our interlibrary loan service.

Interlibrary Loan
Borrowing materials from other libraries is simple and free.