Skip to Main Content

PrepStep for Colleges - Placement Tests and Study Guides: Home

PrepSTEPĀ® contains online tutorials, test practice, e-books and articles to help students achieve academic success and workplace readiness. It has skill building in English, math and science, career licensing test prep, workplace skill building, GED prep,

decorative imagePrepSTEP has skill-building resources in English, math, and science, career licensing test prep, workplace skill building, basic computer skills tutorials, college success skills development, Spanish language resources, and much more organized in Centers. Click the links below to visit and browse each Center for learning resources. Users can type in the search box at the top right of the landing page to search for tutorials, videos, ebooks, flashcards, and practice assessments by name (i.e. College Algebra or NCLEX).  

Targeted learning centers contain practice tests, tutorials, e-books, articles, and flashcards.

 


TEAS Prep

If you're just here for TEAS prep, we have a special guide for you which not only includes PrepSTEP but also gathers other study materials that you might find useful. 

How to Use PrepStep

PrepSTEP

This resource is FREE to Modesto Junior College students. You will need to register for a PrepSTEP account from a campus computer or from your home device (after logging in with your MJC credentials from off campus). If you're at home, access PrepSTEP from the MJC Articles & Databases page; look under "P." 
PrepSTEP screenshot with arrow pointing to link for registering an account

 

Once you have registered, you can enter subjects or names of tests in in the search bar and select the option you want.  

Searching for Resources in PrepStep

Using My Center in PrepStep

Test Preparation Center

Career Preparation Center (including ATI TEAS)

Are you preparing for a professional licensing exam? How about the ATI TEAS and other health occupation tests, ASVAB, POST, Vet Tech, Civil Service exams, becoming a U.S citizen (note: nested under Workplace Skills)? Are you curious about a particular occupation or looking to build your workplace skills? The resources in the Career Preparation center will help you shine in the workplace. Click here to search for resources.

Amazon Web Services (AWS) Training Center

Develop your skills in a wide array of leading-edge technology topics and unlock new education and  career opportunities. Subjects include Artificial Intelligence Services, AWS Cloud Essentials, Managed Services, Serverless Applications, Certification Preparation, Containers, Cost Management, Data Processing and Machine Learning, Database Concepts, Database Migrations, Database Operations, Developer Tools, Internet of Things (IoT), Networking and Connectivity, Game Technology, Security, Identity, and Compliance, Server Deployment, Storage Services and Data Backup, Streaming Media Services, and Working with the AWS Console. 

High School Equivalency Center

Earning a high school equivalency credential can open the door to better income, a more fulfilling job, and a college education. If you are preparing for the GED® test or HiSET® or TASC exams, our practice tests, interactive tutorials, and eBooks will help you reach your goal.  Click here to get started. 

Recursos para Hispanohablantes

Herramientas de aprendizaje, carrera y ciudadanía en español. Este centro ofrece a los adultos que están muy ocupados los recursos para mejorar sus habilidades básicas, ganar sus credenciales de GED® o ser ciudadano estadounidense. Haga clic aquí.

ACT® and SAT® Test Preparation

Students advancing to four-year degrees will be well-prepared for the college admissions tests using the resources in this center, which include practice tests that simulate the official exams, tutorials, eBooks, and flashcards. Click here to start. 

Placement Test Preparation Center

Taking the time to prepare for college placement tests is the smart way to improve your scores and reduce the likelihood of being assigned to developmental courses. Start here

Core Skill Centers

Core Math and Science Skills Center

Need a little help in math or science? If you need help in your developmental math, algebra, geometry, pre-calculus and calculus, then this center’s the place to start. It also includes biology and chemistry practice, e-books, and more. Get started here.

Core English Skills Center

Strengthen your reading, writing, and grammar skills, build your vocabulary and improve your spelling skills using the interactive tutorials, practice tests, e-books, and articles in this center to improve your core English knowledge. Click here to start. 

College Success Skills Center

Build the foundational skills that are vital for success in college and in life. This center covers topics such as time management, multitasking, classroom success skills, research skills, getting academic support, and personal success skills.  Start here.

Basic Computing Skills Center

Do you need to learn the basics of Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, or Outlook? These video tutorials are a quick and easy way to build the proficiencies you need.  Click here to watch. 

Stella Beratlis, Research Librarian

Profile Photo
Stella Beratlis
she, her, hers
Contact:
Need help now? We have Research Drop-In Hours Monday - Saturday during Spring 2024: Go to the Ask a Librarian page to get immediate help.

My Research Help Schedule (In Person, West Campus L & LC. and Online Chat)
Mon - Weds 10-5 PM
Thurs - Fri: Call (2090575-6245) or email me at beratliss@yosemite.edu


Zoom Appointments Times vary. To see when I'm available and to schedule an appointment with me, simply click on the "Schedule Appointment" button above, then pick your date/time. If you do not see a day/time that works, please email me and we can arrange another time.
209-575-6245
Website Skype Contact: beratliss