ENGL 101- Bento - Politicization of Language: Home

There are lots of opinions on this topic. Below are some OPINION pieces to get you thinking. NOTE: these are not unbiased, objective pieces. They are meant to sway you! 

With such a broad topic, you'll be more successful finding sources when you break it down into smaller parts. Try these terms in Gale eBooks:

• language (look for the most relevant sources, like these below:) 
  • article from the Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
  • article from Lies: The Science Behind Deception
  • article from The Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity
  • article from The Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America
• discourse (especially civil discourse and discourse analysis)
• doublespeak
• euphemisms
• alternative facts
• disinformation or misinformation

In the larger databases (Gale Databases and EBSCOhost as well as Google and Google Scholar), you can search by combining relevant terms. Try these below: 

• politics and doublespeak
• Orwellian language
• deceptive language

You can also search by subject rather than keyword. Try this search in EBSCOhost using the Advanced Search feature:

One of the best places to start a research project is with overview articles from specialized encyclopedias. That's what is in the Gale eBooks database.

Click on the Gale eBooks link below, and try searches using the search words listed in the box above.

Another good source for background information is the database below:

All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.

Search using the Search Words listed in this guide, or use words more specific to your topic.

The databases linked to below are good for general articles as well as Scholarly articles--see the videos in the box below!

Use the videos below to see how easy it is to find academic journal articles in two of our most used databases.

Use EBSCOhost Databases to Find Academic Journal Articles

Searching for Academic Articles in Gale Databases

Use books to read both broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic.

Search for books in the library catalog using the search words you created, or click on the links provided in the Recommended Books boxes below.

All of the sources you use need to be evaluated for Currency, Relevancy, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose. Use this guide to learn how to evaluate your sources:

Evaluate Your Sources

Use these MJC Library Research Guides to learn important research skills:

Overview of the L&LC Website

Using Library Databases

How to Find eBooks in the Library Catalog

How to Work with a Librarian

Work with a Librarian

There are two ways librarians can help you personally with your research.

• Drop-in Research Help: No appointment needed. Just walk into the Library & Learning Center on either East or West campus during our regular hours and a librarian will be at the Research Help desk to work with you.
   
• Online Research Appointments: Back by popular demand, we are also offering 30-minute online research appointments. To schedule an appointment, click on the button below. You can also choose to work with a particular librarian or just choose any one of us who is available at the time you need. Once you schedule your appointment, your librarian will contact you with your meeting information.

Can't Chat? Try these other ways to get help

Research guides created by librarians help you jump start your research.

Text: (209) 710-5270

Email: ask@mjc.libanswers.com

How-To Videos