It's important to begin your research learning something about your subject; in fact, you won't be able to create a focused, manageable thesis unless you already know something about your topic.
Use the words below to search for useful information in books including eBooks and articles at the MJC Library.
All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.
Why search here? Use this database when you want to find comprehensive, unbiased reporting and analysis to get background information on issues in the news.
What's included: Overview reports of topics related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy in America.
Why search here? Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
What's included: Gale eBooks is comprised of subject, specialized encyclopedias with articles written by scholars and experts.
Why search here? This is a great database to use when you want to explore different viewpoints on controversial or hot-button issues.
What's included: It includes pro/con articles, court cases, primary sources, videos, media, editorials, and news on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Use the search or browse topics by subject or A to Z.
Obesity is a complex issue with many causes and consequences. You could concentrate on one set of issues and do in-depth research on that or use several of the questions below to focus on the topic of obesity more generally.
All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.
If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in just like you do for your MJC email and Canvas classes.
Why search here? When you want to find broad coverage on almost any topic you need to research at MJC, use Gale databases to search over 35 databases simultaneously.
What's included: Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Why search here? Search 29 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.
What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Why search here? Use Access World News when you need to find current news stories. It's especially useful for local and California news. This is your source for The Modesto Bee from January 1989 to the present.
What's included: Articles from of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources. It includes in-depth special reports and hot topics from around the country.
Watch this short video to learn how to find The Modesto Bee.
Use the Web to explore cutting-edge topics and to read current information.
Google Scholar is a great way to use Google to find scholarly information on the Web. Search Google Scholar below:
You may also be interested in these two relevant and reliable Website below:
Your teacher should have told you what style you should use.
Use the guide below to learn how to cite your sources and format your paper using any style.
Phone:
Text: (209) 710-5270
