Research Guides: Format Papers & Cite Sources: Select Your Style

What is MLA Style?

The citation style created by the Modern Language Association, MLA is most often used by the Humanities, which includes languages, literature, philosophy, visual & performing arts.

Learn how to format papers and cite sources using MLA Style

MLA Basics
Learn what MLA Style is, why you cite, and where format affects your paper.
How to Avoid Plagiarism
Learn what plagiarism is, the consequences of plagiarizing, and how to avoid it
Formatting Your Paper
Read the MLA formatting rules, watch videos to see how it's done, and see sample papers.
Citations & Format Your Works Cited List
Learn how to format your paper, how to create citations, and see lots of citation examples.
In-Text Citations
Learn what in-text citations are and how you create your own.
Annotated Bibliographies
Learn how to create an annotated bibliography Using MLA Style.
How to Create an Attribution
Learn what an attribution is, when you use one, and how to create one.

What is APA Style?

APA style was created by social and behavioral scientists to standardize scientific writing. APA style is most often used in the fields of psychology, social sciences (sociology, business), and nursing.

Learn how to format papers and cite sources using APA Style

APA Basics
Learn what APA Style is, when to use it, why you cite your sources, and how APA Style affects your paper.
How to Avoid Plagiarism
Learn what plagiarism is, the consequences of plagiarizing, and how to avoid it
Formatting Your Paper
Learn how to format your paper, see an example paper, and view a video showing how to use MS Word to format your paper.
Citations & Reference List
Learn the basics of formatting your References list, see citation examples, & access NoodleTools.
In-Text Citations
Learn how to complete in-text citations in your APA papers.
Annotated Bibliography
Learn how to create an annotated bibliography using APA Style.
How to Create an Attribution
Learn what an attribution is, when you use one, and how to create one.

What is Chicago Style?

The Chicago Manual of Style is a comprehensive reference for authors, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers in any field, though most often used in fields such as history, political science, and art.

Learn how to format papers and cite sources using Chicago Style

Chicago Style Basics
Learn what Chicago Style is and how it affects your paper.
How to Avoid Plagiarism
Learn what plagiarism is, the consequences of plagiarizing, and how to avoid it
Formatting the Paper
Learn how to format your paper, see example papers, and view a video showing how to use MS Word to format your paper.
Citation Basics: Two Citation Systems
Learn about the two different citation styles of Chicago, when you cite, when to use a DOI, and tips for citing sources.
Citations: Author-Date References System
Learn how to create your citations using the Chicago Style, Author-Date References System.
Citations: Notes-Bibliography System
Learn to create your citations using the Notes-Bibliography System.
Annotated Bibliography
Learn how to create an annotated bibliography Using Chicago Style.
How to Create an Attribution
Learn what an attribution is, when you use one, and how to create one.

Not using APA, MLA, or Chicago styles? Try one of these

Harvard Style
The Harvard referencing system is known as the Author-Date style. It emphasizes the name of the creator of a piece of information and the date of publication, with the list of references in alphabetical order at the end of your paper. Unlike other citation styles, there is no single, definitive version of Harvard Style. Therefore, you may see a variation in features such as punctuation, capitalization, abbreviations, and the use of italics.
Quick Tips for ASA Style
Created by the American Sociological Association.
ASA Style - OWL Purdue
Learn ASA Style from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue.
Scientific Style and Format Quick Guide
Based on the 8th edition of the CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers.
Legal References (Laws & Cases)
The Bluebook style guide is used in the American legal profession for citation of all relevant sources. This resource from the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL), gives you a summary of the basics of legal citation.
How to Create an Attribution
Learn what an attribution is, when you use one, and how to create one.

Learn how to avoid plagiarism

How to Avoid Plagiarism
Learn what plagiarism is, the consequences of plagiarizing, and how to avoid it

Format Papers & Cite Sources: Select Your Style

Start by Selecting Your Style