Depending on which aspect of A Man Called Ove you have decided to research, the following terms may be useful to you.
In Gale eBooks and the library catalog, use broad terms such as:
In the larger databases (Gale and EBSCO) and Google / Google Scholar, try combining terms or using more specific terms:
Gale eBooks is a great source for background information.
Click on one of the specific articles below, or try your own search terms in the link to the Gale eBooks at the bottom of the box.
If you're working from off campus, you may need to sign in with your MJC sign in credentials (the same as what you use for Canvas and email).
Why search here? Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
What's included: Gale eBooks is comprised of subject, specialized encyclopedias with articles written by scholars and experts.
All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.
Search using the Search Terms at the top of this guide, or use words more specific to your topic.
If you're working from off campus, and you're asked to sign in, just use the same sign in you use for email and Canvas.
Why search here? Search 29 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.
What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Why search here? When you want to find broad coverage on almost any topic you need to research at MJC, use Gale databases to search over 35 databases simultaneously.
What's included: Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Here is a sampling of substantive and scholarly articles found on the Web.
Remember that you must evaluate all sources you find on the Web for credibility.
Use Google Scholar to find scholarly information online.
Books are an excellent resource for in-depth information. Click on the titles of the books below to read them in your browser.
Suicide in Men: how men differ from women in expressing their distress by 
Life on Wheels: an A to Z guide to living fully with mobility issues by Visit the East Campus Library & Learning Center to borrow these books. You'll find them by their listed call numbers. Ask a staff member for help if needed.
Buddy System: understanding male friendships by For more books, including eBooks, search the library's catalog.
If you'd like much more in-depth instruction about the process of conducting research, please check out our guides:
Your instructor should tell you which citation style they want you to use. Click on the appropriate link below to learn how to format your paper and cite your sources according to a particular style.
