HIST 107 - World Civilization from the 16th Century - Van Valkenburg

Use the words below to search for useful information in books including eBooks and articles at the MJC Library.

Also be sure to refer to your assignment for useful search terms.

• civilization history
• industrial revolution
• french revolution
• empire
• colonialism
• world history (You can put a time period after a subject to focus it further, i.e., world history 17th century)
• western civilization history (You can put a time period after a subject to focus it further, i.e., western civilization history 15th century)

Add these words to the end of your search for resources on any topic to focus your search specifically on primary sources:

• sources
• correspondence
• personal narratives
• photographs
• diaries

_______________________

For example: french revolution sources

For more information and help with finding Primary Sources, check out our Find Primary Sources research guide.

Why Use Books:

Use books to read broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic. You can also use books to find primary sources, which are often published together in collections.
 

Where Do I Find Books?

You'll use the library catalog to search for books, ebooks, articles, and more.
 

What if MJC Doesn't Have What I Need?

If you need materials (books, articles, recordings, videos, etc.) that you cannot find in the library catalog, use our interlibrary loan service.

Why Use Databases:

The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, videos, and more from thousands of respected publications. You can search these databases either by topic or for a specific article.

Using the Library's article databases ensures that you're using sources your instructors expect you to use, and you won't have to cull through millions of unrelated Web pages that will waste your time and energy.

Find Articles:

You can start with one of our Databases for Background Reading or our Databases Covering Many Subjects. Scroll down below the big Start Your Research Here box to select a Database by Subject, Database by Type, or Find a Database by Name. 

You'll find our databases by clicking the button below:
 

What if MJC Doesn't Have What I Need?

If you need materials (books, articles, recordings, videos, etc.) that you cannot find in the MJC Library catalog, use our interlibrary loan service.