Citing - HIST 107 - World Civilization from the 16th Century - Van Valkenburg - Research Guides at Modesto Junior College Library

NoodleTools

It's easy; it's a form you fill out with the information about your source; it helps you catch mistakes.

NoodleTools Express
Use NoodleTools Express to create citations on the fly in MLA, APA, or Chicago style.

NoodleTools (Login Full Database) This link opens in a new window
Create and organize your research notes, share and collaborate on research projects, compose and error check citations, and complete your list of works cited in MLA, APA, or Chicago style using the full version of NoodleTools. You'll need to Create a Personal ID and password the first time you use NoodleTools.

To cite sources successfully, it's crucial you have a clear understanding of:

The TYPE of source you're using (magazine article vs. book vs. reference book article)
The PLACE where you found that source (in print at the library vs. online via a database vs. online via a Web site). This is also known as FORMAT
The source's full "bibliographic information" (authors/editors, title, edition, publisher, pages, etc.)

What You Need to Know About MLA Style:

Whenever you use a citation style (ANY citation style!) you will be governed by that style in three ways:

The general format of the paper. This includes margins, font, page numbers, line spacing, titles, headings, etc.
The bibliography. The bibliography is the cumulative list of all sources used in your research. In MLA, this is called the Works Cited list. How do you cite a printed book vs. a book found in a database vs. a book found on the Web?
In-text citation. Citing sources within the body of your paper let's your reader know you are incorporating someone else's words/research/ideas.

Here's what you need to know to complete your paper in MLA format. The links below will take you to the Ready, Set, Cite (MLA) research guide:

What You Need to Know About Chicago Style:

Chicago style will affect your paper in three distinct places:

The general format of the paper. This includes margins, font, page numbers, line spacing, titles, headings, etc.
The bibliography. The bibliography is the cumulative list of all sources used in your research. In Chicago, this is called the Bibliography (if you're using the notes-bibliography system) or Reference list (if you're using the author-date system). How do you cite a printed book vs. a book found on a database vs. a book found on the Web?
In-text citation. Citing sources within the body of your paper lets your reader know you're incorporating someone else's words/research/ideas. In the notes-bibliography system you'll use footnotes or endnotes for your in-text citations. In the author-date references system you'll use parenthetical citations for your in-text citations.

Here's what you need to know to complete your paper in Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) format.

The links below will take you to the Ready, Set, Cite (Chicago) research guide: