Develop Your Topic - HIST 101 - History of the United States to 1877 - Research Guides at Modesto Junior College Library

What Are You Trying to Figure Out?

Research works best when it is tackled with the true spirit of inquiry. What are you ultimately trying to figure out in regards to your topic? Are you trying to gain an overview of of a brand new topic, or understand something familiar with greater depth and clarity? Are you trying to develop a new idea or find the best arguments for or against an existing idea? Are you trying to find a solution to a problem? Approaching research through the lens of inquiry is a great way to keep you motivated. You aren't just looking for information, you're looking for ANSWERS!

Background Reading: Getting Acquainted with Your Topic

It's important to begin your research learning something about your subject; in fact, you won't be able to create a focused, manageable thesis unless you already know something about your topic.

Do a Little Background Reading:

This step is important so that you will:

Begin building your core knowledge about your topic
Be able to put your topic in context
Create research questions that drive your search for information
Create a list of search terms that will help you find relevant information
Know if the information you’re finding is relevant and useful

Reference sources are highly-credible sources filled with thorough yet concise discussions that let you know the “who, what, when, why, and where” information on your topic right at the start of your research.

Top Picks:

History Research Center This link opens in a new window
History Research Center is a family of five history databases that you can search simultaneously. These include: American History, African-American History, American Indian History, Ancient and Medieval History, and Modern World History. These databases include a wide variety of research sources including, in-depth overview essays, biographies, journal articles, images, primary sources, maps, videos, and more.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Use this database when you want topical, in-depth coverage of world history from antiquity to the present. Read about the background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for the major topics in history from every region of the world. This is a great database for finding primary sources.
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find primary sources and brief overview articles to explore themes in the African American experience from African origins to the present day.
American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find primary sources and brief overview articles to explore themes relating to indigenous peoples of North America from pre-contact to the colonial era into the 21st century.
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find primary sources and brief overview articles regarding the Latino American experience from pre-contact Aztec and Maya societies to 21st century political issues like recent immigration law to cultural themes like coming-of-age rituals, music, literature, and cuisine.

Research Questions Matter

New knowledge inevitably leads to new questions.

Think of a television program involving a criminal investigation. Experts arrive on the scene to answer a fundamental question: "What happened here?" But their investigation merely begins with that basic question. Soon they are finding themselves answering more specific questions in order to figure out what happened. Who all was involved with the crime? When did it happen? Where did it happen? Why did it happen? Were there any witnesses? It is only by answering a series of smaller questions that they are ultimately able to see the big picture.

A researcher investigates a topic much like a detective investigates a crime. You may start off with an overriding question but you'll soon find yourself asking many more questions on your journey.

Research questions also help you develop the flow of your paper. You can use this Research Question Template as a guide to get you started.

The video below explains why you should always begin your search for relevant, credible information by creating a list of research questions that will drive your research.

__________________________________