Research Guides: Government Surveillance: Researching Government Surveillance

Recommended Search Terms

Use these words to search for useful information in library databases, OneSearch, and the web.

privacy
internet
right of privacy
electronic surveillance
government surveillance
domestic surveillance

Start Here: Learn About Your Topic

It's important to begin your research learning something about your subject; in fact, you won't be able to create a focused, manageable thesis unless you already know something about your topic. You should start by doing some background reading.

Databases for background reading

Gale eBooks
Why search here? Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
What's included: Gale eBooks is comprised of subject, specialized encyclopedias with articles written by scholars and experts.
Issues & Controversies
Why search here? This is a great database to use when you want to explore different viewpoints on controversial or hot-button issues.
What's included: It includes pro/con articles, court cases, primary sources, videos, media, editorials, and news on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Use the search or browse topics by subject or A to Z.
CQ Researcher Online
Why search here? Use this database when you want to find comprehensive, unbiased reporting and analysis to get background information on issues in the news.
What's included: Overview reports of topics related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy in America.
Gale In Context: Global Issues
Why search here? Use this database when you want to explore your topic from a global perspective or to analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world with a global awareness.
What's included: You'll find news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more.

Create Research Questions to Focus Your Topic

Electronic surveillance is a complex topic that is best dealt with by narrowing your focus. Do some background reading, and use the questions below to help you focus your topic.

Does government surveillance violate civil rights?
Is government surveillance making the country safer?
Is America becoming an intrusive surveillance state?
What constitutional protections apply to government surveillance?
How are our Fourth Amendment rights challenged by new technologies?
In this social media climate what does right of privacy mean?

Explore Your Topic Further

When you are ready to explore and answer your research questions, use these databases below.

Gale Databases
Why search here? When you want to find broad coverage on almost any topic you need to research at MJC, use Gale databases to search over 35 databases simultaneously.
What's included: Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
EBSCOhost Databases
Why search here? Search 29 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.
What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
World News Digest
Why search here? Use this database when you need authoritative news summaries and background articles from around the world.
What's included: This archival record of domestic and international news covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940 to the present and is updated weekly. 300,000+ original articles from 1940 to today, featuring concise, clearly written news summaries that provide indispensable context and perspective on critical current events.
Access World News
Why search here? Use Access World News when you need to find current news stories. It's especially useful for local and California news. This is your source for The Modesto Bee from January 1989 to the present.
What's included: Articles from of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources. It includes in-depth special reports and hot topics from around the country.
Watch this short video to learn how to find The Modesto Bee.

Videos on Surveillance

Find videos and documentaries about government surveillance in our streaming video databases.

Use the Web for Research

Search the Web

Use Google Scholar to find academically-appropriate Web sites.

Selected Websites

Electronic Privacy Information Center
EPIC is a public interest research center in Washington, D.C. It was established in 1994 to focus public attention on emerging civil liberties issues and to protect privacy, the First Amendment, and constitutional values
Electronic Frontier Foundation
Advocates for and litigates on technological issues involving privacy, free speech, freedom to innovate and consumer rights
National Security Agency
The NSA uses technology to gather information and "gain a decision advantage for the Nation and our allies under all circumstances."
Privacy and Technology - American Civil Liberties Union
Privacy today faces growing threats from a growing surveillance apparatus that is often justified in the name of national security.
Atlas of Surveillance
The Atlas of Surveillance is a database of the surveillance technologies deployed by law enforcement in communities across the United States. This includes drones, body-worn camera, automated license plate readers, facial recognition, and more.

Cite Your Sources

Your instructor should tell you which citation style they want you to use. Click on the appropriate link below to learn how to format your paper and cite your sources according to a particular style.

Format Papers & Cite Sources
Created by MJC Librarians, this guide provides in-depth instruction on formatting your paper, creating your bibliography, and writing in-text citations in MLA, APA, Chicago, and other writing styles.