Skip to main content

Human Resources Management (BUSAD 274 - Akiona)

Use this guide to complete your research on Human Resources topics with ease

Search Words Matter

You'll look for information in a variety of places: library catalogs (for books), databases (for articles, reports, etc.), and the Web. Some of these search tools use a controlled vocabulary – formally established subject headings or descriptors. Others offer keyword searching – words drawn from the full text of articles. Some tools allow for both types of searching.

Whatever kind of tool you use – and whatever kind of search you perform -- you will save time and effort by generating a list of good search terms before embarking on your research. Like your list of research questions, you can expect this list to keep growing.

These two approaches to searching for answers are called Subject searching and Keyword searching. This short video demonstrates the differences between the two well.

Key Search Terms

Use these search words to find useful information in books, articles, Web sites, etc.

  • personnel management
  • To focus on a specific industry or type of organization add personnel management after that term (i.e., hospitals personnel management, music industry personnel management)
  • human resources management
  • human resource management
  • sales force management
  • wages-psychological aspects

Using & Finding Books

Why Use Books:

Use books to read broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic. You can also use books to find primary sources, which are often published together in collections.
 

Where Do I Find Books?

You'll use the library catalog to search for books, ebooks, articles, and more.
 

What if MJC Doesn't Have What I Need?
Unfortunately, during the COVID-19 emergency, we are unable to process requests for materials from other libraries. We'll have this service up and running again as soon as campus opens and we're fully operational.

If you need materials (books, articles, recordings, videos, etc.) that you cannot find in the library catalog, use our interlibrary loan service.

Using & Finding Articles

Why Use Databases:

The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications. You can search these article databases either by topic or for a specific article.

Using the Library's article databases ensures that you're using sources your instructors expect you to use, and you won't have to cull through millions of unrelated Web pages that will waste your time and energy.

____________________________________

All of these resources are free for you because you are a student at MJC. If you're working from anywhere off campus, you'll need to sign in. Once you click on the name of a database simply enter your student ID and six-digit birth date.
Find Articles:

The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications. 

Once you click this link to our Articles & Databases page, be sure to scroll down to see the Business Databases I have displayed for you.