The Dictionary of Art by The Grove Dictionary of Art is shelved in the open stacks of the East Campus Library and Learning Center.
Many students turn to Wikipedia for their initial exploration of a topic. Wikipedia is a fine place to start, but not an appropriate place to finish. Be sure to augment your background research with sources you can actually include on an academic bibliography. Entries from the specialized encyclopedias you'll find in Gale eBooks are a great place to find topic overviews on artists, artworks, and art movements.
Why search here? Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
What's included: Gale eBooks is comprised of subject, specialized encyclopedias with articles written by scholars and experts.
Why search here? Use this database to search our collection of thousands of eBooks the MJC Library owns through EBSCOhost. These books can be a great place to start your research.
What's included: Thousands of eBooks covering a wide variety of topics.
Why search here? Use OneSearch when you want a simple, one-stop search for discovering and accessing materials that the MJC Library owns.
What's included: Physical books, ebooks, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
Why search here? This is a great database to use when you need to find information about a person.
What's included: This Gale database includes more than 500,000 individuals from throughout history and from around the world.
Why search here? When you want to find broad coverage on almost any topic you need to research at MJC, use Gale databases to search over 35 databases simultaneously.
What's included: Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Why search here? Search 29 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.
What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Why search here? JSTOR is a visually-appealing treasure trove of scholarly content in which you can explore the world's knowledge, cultures, and ideas.
What's included: JSTOR offers more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, images and primary sources in 75 disciplines.