Choose & Assess Your Topic - HIST 102 - History of the United States Since 1865 - Researching World War II - Gutierrez - Research Guides at Modesto Junior College Library

Initial Topic Assessment

Find several topic that sound interesting to you. Break each topic down into keywords, and then run those terms through some of the sources your professor recommends, plus a few MJC history databases. You'll feel better knowing there are plenty of sources to support your work.

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly articles on U.S. and Canadian history. It provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books in addition to selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present.
American History This link opens in a new window
This is one of our History Research Center databases, which is an indispensable resource for student research. Spanning our nation’s history—from prehistory to the present day—American History was developed and curated by leading editors and scholars in the study of American history. It is composed of a variety of research tools, including articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.
History Research Center This link opens in a new window
History Research Center is a family of five history databases that you can search simultaneously. These include: American History, African-American History, American Indian History, Ancient and Medieval History, and Modern World History. These databases include a wide variety of research sources including, in-depth overview essays, biographies, journal articles, images, primary sources, maps, videos, and more.

Topic Selection Considerations

Potential Topics

POTENTIAL TOPICS

How did U.S. foreign policy shift from the start through the end of World War II?
What caused the U.S. to enter World War II?
How was U.S. industry mobilized for World War II?
What was the U.S. response to the Holocaust during World War II?
What were the reasons for the internment of Japanese-Americans during World War II?
What impact did World War II have on the American homefront?
How was propaganda used in the U.S. during World War II?
How did the Battle of Midway change the course of the war in the Pacific?
Why was D-Day significant in shifting the war in Europe?
How did the leadership of FDR impact the course of World War II?
What were the motives behind the U.S. decision to use the atomic bombs on Japan?
What were the contributions of [choose group below] to World War II and the war's impact on them

African Americans
Asian Americans
Hispanic Americans
Native Americans
American Women