Gather Your Sources - HIST 102 - History of the United States Since 1865 - Researching World War II - Gutierrez - Research Guides at Modesto Junior College Library

Online Books

Use books to find both topic overviews and more detailed discussions of your topic.You'll use the library catalog to search for eBooks you can access from home, as well as print titles that live in one of the MJC Libraries.

Search eBook Collection: Ebscohost directly to find full-text online books (linked below). You can scan tables of contents and indexes for relevant chapters, and even search the text books for specific content. Information in the eBook Collection can be emailed, printed, or downloaded, and Ebscohost even provides citations in MLA and other formats.

eBook Collection: EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Use this database to search our collection of thousands of eBooks the MJC Library owns through EBSCOhost. These books can be a great place to start your research.
What's included: Thousands of eBooks covering a wide variety of topics.

Research Databases

The MJC Articles and Databases page will link you to more than 100 databases providing articles from encyclopedias, magazine, newspapers, scholarly journals. You can also find book chapters, primary sources, and more. Library databases are a great way to find full-text sources that can be accessed online 24/7, and then emailed, saved, printed and cited if needed. Below are some of the databases recommended for finding sources about World War II. For a full list of all MJC databases, visit our Articles and Databases page.

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Use this database to find information on U.S. and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the present.
What's included: Academic journals, magazines, books, conference papers, and dissertations
American History This link opens in a new window
Why search here? This is one of our History Research Center databases that spans our nation’s history from prehistory to the present day.
What's included: Primary sources, articles, images, timelines, videos, and slideshows
History Research Center This link opens in a new window
History Research Center is a family of five history databases that you can search simultaneously. These include: American History, African-American History, American Indian History, Ancient and Medieval History, and Modern World History. These databases include a wide variety of research sources including, in-depth overview essays, biographies, journal articles, images, primary sources, maps, videos, and more.
Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Use this database when you want topical, in-depth coverage of world history from antiquity to the present. Read about the background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for the major topics in history from every region of the world. This is a great database for finding primary sources.
Archival Films & Newsreels Videos This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Use this database when you want to explore different eras of history through film.
What's included: Short archival films
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a video streaming database with a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers.

Instructions for embedding Kanopy into Canvas.

High Quality Web Pages

Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, films and video, audio recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. There is a lot of information available online.
DocsTeach
For teachers, students, and history buffs, DocsTeach provides access thousands of primary sources — letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, videos, and other document types — spanning the course of American history
National Archives & Records Administration (NARA)
NARA is the nation's record keeper. Those valuable records are preserved and are available to anybody, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching a historical topic that interests you.
National World War II Museum
The National WWII Museum tells the story of the American experience in the war that changed the world—why it was fought, how it was won, and what it means today—so that all generations will understand the price of freedom and be inspired by what they learn.