Research Guides: News & Newspapers: California Newspapers Online

Current California Newspapers

Most newspapers provide their most current content freely on their Web sites. They do, however, charge for archival materials.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Use Access World News when you need to find current news stories. It's especially useful for local and California news. This is your source for The Modesto Bee from January 1989 to the present.
What's included: Articles from of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources. It includes in-depth special reports and hot topics from around the country.

Watch this short video to learn how to find The Modesto Bee.

California Newspapers
Links to Web sites for California newspapers from Refdesk.com
Google News Archive
Search Google's digital news articles archives.

Use historical newspapers as primary sources for your research.

California Digital Newspaper Collection
The California Digital Newspaper Collection contains over 1,500,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers.
Chronicling America: California Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.