Research Guides: News & Newspapers: National & International Newspapers Online

Wire Services

Wire services provide news to newspapers and other media outlets.

Associated Press
Broad coverage of U.S. and global news
Reuters
Business and financial
UPI
United Press International

News Coverage in MJC Databases

Library article databases provide you with complete articles from numerous news publications for free.

Get started by using these databases below:

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find credible sources for topics in law, political science, and business. This is your source for law review articles and court cases.
Nexis Uni includes:
• Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts,
newswires and blogs
• Local, regional, national and international newspapers
with deep archives
• Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and
statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions
since 1790
• Unparalleled business information on more than
80 million U.S. and international companies and more
than 75 million executives

View online tutorials here
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Use Access World News when you need to find current news stories. It's especially useful for local and California news. This is your source for The Modesto Bee from January 1989 to the present.
What's included: Articles from of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources. It includes in-depth special reports and hot topics from around the country.

Watch this short video to learn how to find The Modesto Bee.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts
World News Digest This link opens in a new window
Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the Facts On File World News Digest in print. This archival record of domestic and international news covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940 to the present and is updated weekly
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Be sure to filter your search results to newspapers.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Why search here? This database provides political, geographic, economic, and business information for the countries of the world.
What's included: Detailed country reports and news from around the world

National & International Newspapers Online

Most newspapers provide their most current content freely on their Web sites. They do, however, charge for archival materials.

Newspapers - USA and Worldwide
Links to news sites from Refdesk.com
Google News Archive
Search Google's digital news articles archives.
Google News
Google News is a news service developed by Google that presents a continuous flow of links to articles from thousands of publishers and news sources. You can search for topics, places, or specific news sources.

Historical Newspapers

Use historical newspapers as primary sources for your research.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Times Topics
Topic pages from The New York Times include all the news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, audio and video files published on a wide variety of topics. This treasure trove is available without charge on articles going back to 1981.
U.S. News Archives on the Web
Maintained by the Special Libraries Association, News Division