Research Guides: Hispanic Heritage Month: Hispanic Heritage Month

Key Search Words

Use the words below to search for information in the library's catalog and databases.

Hispanic Americans
Latinos

Also, try sub-divisions of Hispanic Americans, such as:

Mexican Americans
Chicanos
Cuban Americans
Puerto Ricans

Books @ MJC: Fiction

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz
Call Number: PS3554.I259 B75 2008
Also available in a Spanish language edition.
An astonishing vision of modern American experience and an exploration of the endless human capacity to persevere—and risk it all—in the name of love.
The Circuit by Francisco Jiménez
Call Number: eBook
Twelve autobiographical stories by Santa Clara Univ. professor Francisco Jiménez, who crossed the border with his family without authorization when he was four years old.
Tales from la Vida by Frederick Luis Aldama
Call Number: PN6725 .T35 2018
Collection of comics created by Latinx artists and writers that sheds light on their various autobiographical experiences.
Dreaming in Cuban by Cristina García
Call Number: PS3557.A66 D73 1993
The dreamy and bittersweet story of a family divided by politics and geography by the Cuban revolution.

Hispanic History Makers

Dolores Huerta (b. 1930), labor organizer discusses Cesar Chavez

Sonia Sotomayor (b. 1954), U.S. Supreme Court Justice

Lin-Manuel Miranda (b. 1980), composer, lyricist, actor, playwright and producer

Marco Rubio (b. 1971), U. S. Senator

Isabel Allende (b. 1942), novelist

Ricardo Alonso "Pancho" Gonzales (1928-1995), tennis player

Julián Castro (b. 1974), former Secretary of Housing and Urban Development

Articles on Hispanic and Latino culture and history

All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff. If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in. Once you click on the name of a database, simply enter your student ID (without the W) and your six-digit birth date.

Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Click on Browse People, and select "Hispanic Americans" from the drop down menu

Access World News: National Hispanic Heritage Month
Links to current newspaper articles on a wide range of topics related to Hispanic and Latino culture and important issues, events, leaders and personalities.

Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.

Books @ MJC: History and Biography

Chicano! the history of the Mexican American civil rights movement by F. Arturo Rosales
Call Number: E184.M5 R634 1996
Details the struggles of the Mexican American community for equality and identity.
Latina Legacies: identity, biography, and community by Vicki L. Ruiz
Call Number: eBook
Spanning two centuries, this collection documents the lives of fifteen remarkable Latinas who witnessed, defined, defied, and wrote about the forces that shaped their lives.
Latinx: the new force in American politics and culture by Ed Morales
Call Number: E184 .S75 M666 2018
This groundbreaking discussion explains how Latin political identities are tied to a long Latin American history of mestizaje, translatable as "mixedness" or "hybridity", and that this border thinking is a key to understanding bilingual, bicultural Latin cultures and politics.
Oye Como Va! hybridity and identity in Latino popular music by Deborah Pacini Hernandez
Call Number: eBook
Traces the trajectories of various U.S. Latino musical forms in a globalizing world, examining how the blending of Latin music reflects Latino/a American lives connecting across nations.

Web Sites

Hispanic Heritage Month
Images, audio and video clips, and digital exhibits from the Library of Congress and other government sites.
Latino Americans 1565-2013
Timeline from PBS
La Opinión
Web site of the largest Spanish-language newspaper in the United States
Pew Hispanic Center
Nonpartisan organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos’ growing impact on the nation.
Smithsonian Latino Center
Ensuring that Latino contributions to the arts, sciences, and humanities are highlighted, understood, and advanced.
U.S. Census: Hispanic Population 2010
A snapshot of the Hispanic or Latino population in the United
States.
Latino USA
A radio journal of news and culture; the only national, English-language radio program produced from a Latino perspective.

Hispanic Heritage Month: Hispanic Heritage Month