Use the Gale eBooks database (link is below) to find overview articles on topics related to your research.
Why search here? Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
What's included: Gale eBooks is comprised of subject, specialized encyclopedias with articles written by scholars and experts.
All of these databases are free for you to use. If you are working from off campus, simply login like you do for your MJC email and Canvas courses.
Why search here? Use this database when you want to explore your topic from a global perspective or to analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world with a global awareness.
What's included: You'll find news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more.
Why search here? Use this database to research different countries.
What's included: Country overviews, news, media, photographs, maps, primary sources, and research features for different countries
Why search here? This database provides political, geographic, economic, and business information for the countries of the world.
What's included: Detailed country reports and news from around the world
Why search here? Use this database to research broad subjects like literature, gender roles, and cultural studies by exploring international topics like celebrations, rituals, myths, religion, beliefs, urban legends, music, dance, holidays, food, tales, and traditional arts and crafts.
What's included: Encyclopedia articles, classic folk tales from the around the world, images, maps, and vetted web resources.
Why search here? Search 29 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.
What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Why search here? When you want to find broad coverage on almost any topic you need to research at MJC, use Gale databases to search over 35 databases simultaneously.
What's included: Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Use Google Scholar to find scholarly information on the Web.
Your instructor should tell you which citation style they want you to use. Click on the appropriate link below to learn how to format your paper and cite your sources according to a particular style.
Phone:
Text: (209) 710-5270
