Skip to main content

Countries & Cultures

This guide is designed to help you become more independent and effective in finding useful, credible information on different countries and their cultures.

Featured Books @ The Library

Key Reference Books at the MJC Library. Get off to a good start by doing background research to identify the “who, what, when, why, and where” information on your topic. Reference books are a great source for finding this essential background information.

Try using one or two of the following books to begin exploring your topic:

Key Search Words

Why Search Words Matter:

By using the right search terms you can be more successful at finding the exact information you need for your research paper or project. Use the words below to search for useful information in books and articles at the MJC Library. 

Search Words:

  • the name of your specific country or culture
  • ethnology encyclopedias
  • manners and customs
  • ethnicity united states
  • cultural assimilation
  • social life and customs  - Put this subject term after names of specific countries, cities, etc. and under classes of people and ethnic groups (for example, Asia social life and customs or African Americans social life and customs
  • civilization - Put this term after the name of a specific country (for example, iran civilization

Browse Books in the Library:

If you like to walk through the library's shelves browsing for books or movie the Subject Areas you should visit are:

  • GN - anthropology
  • GT - manners and customs
  • GR - folklore
  • D -   world history (for information on specific geographic areas)
  • E -    history of the Americas
  • F -    history of the Americas

Books & eBooks

Why You Use Books:

Use books to read broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic. 

Where Do I Find Books?

Use WorldCat to discover books, eBooks, videos, and more for your research. Use the search bar below to begin your search:

 


For complete instructions on using WorldCat check out our WorldCat research guide.

What if MJC Doesn't Have What I Need?

  • If you find materials in WorldCat that you need, but MJC does not own them, you can simply click the Request Item button in WorldCat to have that item sent to you here at MJC.
     
  • If, however, you need materials that you cannot find in WorldCat, you can request them through our interlibrary loan service.

Article Databases

Why You Use Databases:

The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications. You can search these article databases either by topic or for a specific article.

Using the Library's article databases ensures that you're using sources your instructors expect you to use, and you won't have to cull through millions of unrelated Web pages that will waste your time and energy.

Find Articles:

The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications. You can search these article databases either by topic or for a specific article.
 

All of these resources are free for you because you are a student at MJC. If you're working from anywhere off campus, you'll need to sign in. Once you click on the name of a database simply enter your student ID and six-digit birth date.

 

Best Bet Article Databases:

____________________________________

What if MJC Doesn't Have What I Need?

  • If you find materials in WorldCat that you need, but MJC does not own them, you can simply click the Request Item button in WorldCat to have that item sent to you here at MJC.
     
  • If, however, you need materials that you cannot find in WorldCat, you can request them through our interlibrary loan service

Web Resources

Why You Use the Web:

For research you use the Web to explore cutting-edge topics, read current news, research companies and people, find the vast amount of government-produced information, and read expert and/or popular opinions.

Selected Web Sites:

Use these credible Web resources to build upon the knowledge you have already gained about your country or culture through your reading of books and articles. One of the best ways to evaluate Web resources is to compare what you read on the Web to what you have already learned from all of your other research.

Google Scholar:

Use Google Scholar to find scholarly information on the Web.