Skip to main content

Researching Writers and Their Work

For students exploring literary works such as novels, short stories, poems, and plays

Using WorldCat to Find Books

Why You Use Books:

Use books to read broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic. 

Where Do I Find Books?

Use WorldCat to discover books, eBooks, videos, and more for your research. Use the search bar below to begin your search:

 


For complete instructions on using WorldCat check out our WorldCat research guide.


Using Databases to Find eBooks

If you need a book when the library is closed, no worries. The MJC Library owns thousands of eBooks that you can use at any time of the day or night.

You'll find many of our eBooks in WorldCat but using some of our eBook Databases can make it easier to locate exactly what you need.

The MJC Library databases that will work best for you are...


Using Databases for Articles & Videos

Why Use Databases:

The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, videos, and more from thousands of respected publications. You can search these databases either by topic or for a specific article.

Using the Library's article databases ensures that you're using sources your instructors expect you to use, and you won't have to cull through millions of unrelated Web pages that will waste your time and energy.

All of these resources are free for you because you are a student at MJC. If you're working from anywhere off campus, you'll need to sign in. Once you click on the name of a database simply enter your student ID and six-digit birth date.

 

Find Articles:

The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications. 

You can look at our Most Popular databases, pick one out of the A-Z List, or browse databases by Subject in the dropdown box.


What if MJC Doesn't Have What I Need?

  1. First, check WorldCat to see if another library has the material you need. You can simply search WorldCat using the title. If you find the material in WorldCat you click the Request Item button to have that item sent to you here at MJC.
  2. If you do not find the material you want in WorldCat, fill out the appropriate form below to request your material:

Request an Article:

 

Request a Book:

 

For  more information, check out our interlibrary loan service page.