Research Guides: Women in American History: Find Information

Featured Library eBooks

Here are a few examples of books from our library that you could use to research topics in women's history.

Start with Background Reading

Use the Gale eBooks database (link is below) to find short overview articles on topics related to your research.

Some recommended search terms:

Use the Name of Your Woman: To find information about a person, use that person's name as the subject of your search.
For example, if I want to find information about Amelia Earhart, I will search on the term: earhart, amelia.
Add Words to Focus Your Search: To further focus my search on a particular aspect of Amelia Earhart, I'll add keywords to my original search.
For example: earhart, amelia and "women's rights"
Find Primary Sources: To find primary sources, simply add one of the following words to the end of your search - sources, personal narratives, diaries, correspondence, photographs.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
What's included: Gale eBooks is comprised of subject, specialized encyclopedias with articles written by scholars and experts.

Using Databases to Explore Your Topic Further

Why Use Databases:

The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications. You can search these databases either by topic or for a specific article.

Using the Library's article databases ensures that you're using sources your instructors expect you to use, and you won't have to cull through millions of unrelated Web pages that will waste your time and energy.

Explore Your Topic Using Articles & Films:

Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window Why search here? This is a great database to use when you need to find information about a person. What's included: This Gale database includes more than 500,000 individuals from throughout history and from around the world.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window Why search here? Use this database to find information on U.S. and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the present. What's included: Academic journals, magazines, books, conference papers, and dissertations
History Research Center This link opens in a new window Why search here? Use this family of five history databases to get started with your history research. You can search all five simultaneously or each one individually. The five databases are,  American History, African-American History, American Indian History, Ancient and Medieval History, and Modern World History. What's includes:  These databases include a wide variety of research sources including, in-depth overview essays, biographies, journal articles, images, primary sources, maps, videos, and more.
Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window Why search here? Use this database when you want topical, in-depth coverage of world history from antiquity to the present. Read about the background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for the major topics in history from every region of the world. This is a great database for finding primary sources.What's included: You'll find pro/con articles, timelines, and primary sources.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window Why search here? When you want to find broad coverage on almost any topic you need to research at MJC, use Gale databases to search over 35 databases simultaneously.What's included:  Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window Why search here? Search 22 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Why search here? Use Films on Demand when you want educational video content. Teachers can embed videos in Canvas. What's included: This streaming video collection contains unlimited, 24/7 access to thousands of videos. In addition, there are mobile options for iPad and Android.
Instructions for embedding Films on Demand into Canvas.
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window Why search here? Use Docuseek2 to discover, access, and stream the best documentary and social issues films and videos available. What's included:  Independent, social-issue and environmental films from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution.  
Instructions for embedding Docuseek2 into Canvas.

Women in American History

Featured Library eBooks

Start with Background Reading

Using Databases to Explore Your Topic Further

Why Use Databases:

Explore Your Topic Using Articles & Films:

Women's History on the Web

Digital Exhibits from Libraries, Archives, & Museums