Research Guides: Public Health: Pandemics

Background Information

Read about infectious diseases, epidemics, and pandemics in Gale eBooks and CQ Researcher, great databases to begin your research. Here are some selected titles from both:

Global Pandemics and Epidemics and How They Relate to You by Angela L. Williams (Managing editor)
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9780780818163

Publication Date: 2020-09-04

Basic consumer health information about widespread disease outbreaks and their associated threats, as well as information about disease management and advice about what to do when infectious diseases spread rapidly to many people.
Infectious Diseases by Thomas J. Riggs
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781410381316

Publication Date: 2018-07-01

Pandemic Preparedness: During a pandemic, governmental agencies such as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention will play a key role in tracking the disease, assisting state health agencies, and distributing key personnel and medical supplies. Planning at the community level is also important to maintain vital services during a pandemic, while limiting the spread of the disease.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health by Brigham Narins
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9780028666716

Publication Date: 2019-09-01

Pandemic A pandemic is an epidemic of an infectious disease that has spread across large portions of several continents or even worldwide. The English word comes from two Greek words that mean “all” and “people.” A noncontagious disease or condition that affects large numbers of people around the world on a steady basis (such as cancer, diabetes, or depression) is not a pandemic; the disorder must be an infectious disease to be defined as one.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Emerging Diseases by Gale Research Inc
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781410380777

Publication Date: 2018-01-19

Read entries on "Pandemics," "Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome," "Vaccination," "Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus," and "Globalization and Emerging Diseases." This book is a guide to information on infectious diseases that have either lately appeared for the first time in a population or have recently rapidly increased in incidence. The articles avoid medical jargon and use language that laypersons can understand while still providing authoritative, balanced information that addresses the pathogens that are causing and threaten to cause significant health crises.
What You Need to Know about the Flu by Roni K. Devlin
ISBN: 9781440870071

Publication Date: 2020-12-02

CQ Researcher Report - Pandemic Preparedness Will the world be ready to contain the next outbreak?
Report by Marcia Clemmitt: https://doi.org/10.4135/cqresrre20240126
CQ Researcher: Chronic Illness in America Can the nation curb the epidemic?
Sections on Long COVID. by Mary Ellen Schneider, 2025: https://doi.org/10.4135/cqresrre20250912

Need to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles on coronavirus and/or pandemics?

Gale Databases

Why search here? When you want to find broad coverage on almost any topic you need to research at MJC, use Gale databases to search over 35 databases simultaneously.
What's included: Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
EBSCOhost Databases

Why search here? Search 29 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.
What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.

Public Health

Search Terms

Stella Beratlis, Reference Librarian

Background Information

Read about infectious diseases, epidemics, and pandemics in Gale eBooks and CQ Researcher, great databases to begin your research. Here are some selected titles from both:

Need to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles on coronavirus and/or pandemics?