Home

Paper #1 - Find California Laws

California Legislative Information
You can search for a bill or look up California laws. Once you find your bill you can read the votes, history, analysis, and more.
California Code of Regulations
A regulation is a rule adopted by a state regulatory agency to implement, interpret, or make specific the law enforced or administered by it, or to govern its procedure. Search the text of formally-adopted regulations. The CCR consists of 28 titles and contains the regulations of approximately 200 regulatory agencies.
California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Education
Search within or read the California Code of Regulations.
Archived Statutes
From the California State Assembly, Office of the Chief Clerk, laws back to 1850.

Paper #1 - Your Elected Officials

Use the links below to locate your California elected officials and to see how they voted on legislation:

Find Your Elected Officials
From the League of Women Voters. Enter your address and Zip code to find your United States, California, and local representatives.
Project VoteSmart
Find voting records, biographical and contact information, issue positions, interest group ratings, public statements, and campaign finance information.

How California Laws Are Made

Like federal laws, laws in California begin as ideas that are debated in the California State Legislature, which is composed of the State Assembly, State Senate, and several other departments.

For a complete study of how California laws are made, see the Overview of California Legislative Process by clicking on its link below.

Overview of California Legislative Process
Read about the life cycle of legislation in California and view a flowchart.
California State Assembly
One branch of the State Legislature
California State Senate
One branch of the State Legislature

Paper #2 - Ballot Measures 2024

Qualified Statewide Ballot Measures
The California Secretary of State provides this list of statewide measures that have qualified for the ballot.
Eligible Statewide Initiative and Referendum Measures
The California Secretary of State provides this list of initiative and referendum measures that are eligible for the ballot. An eligible measure is one in which the required number of signatures have been submitted to and verified by the county elections officials. These measures will become qualified on the 131st day prior to the next Statewide General Election.
Propositions & Ballot Measures: Cal-Access (Campaign Finance Activity)
From the California Secretary of State. Be sure to click Historical if you need information from previous elections.
Ballot Measures
The League of Women Voters California Education Fund provides these unbiased explanations.
California 2024 Ballot Propositions
Ballot information from Ballotpedia

Papers 1 & 2 - How to Cite Your Sources

Avoid Plagiarism by Citing Your Sources

Use one of the three styles below to cite your sources to avoid plagiarism, give credit to the original authors who informed your writing, and make your arguments stronger because you are relying on experts to shape your arguments.

Ready, Set, Cite (MLA)
In-depth help on using the MLA style
Ready, Set, Site (APA)
In-depth instruction on formatting your paper and citing your sources in APA, 7th edition.
Ready, Set, Cite (Chicago)
Everything you need to know about formatting and citing in Chicago style.

Papers 1 & 2 - Media Coverage for California Politics and Elections

Library Database Articles

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text of editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources. This is your source for The Modesto Bee from January 1989 to the present. Also includes in-depth special reports and hot topics from around the country.
To access The Modesto Bee, limit your search to that publication.
Watch this short video to learn how to find The Modesto Bee.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find credible sources for topics in law, political science, and business. This is your source for law review articles and court cases.
Nexis Uni includes:
• Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts,
newswires and blogs
• Local, regional, national and international newspapers
with deep archives
• Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and
statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions
since 1790
• Unparalleled business information on more than
80 million U.S. and international companies and more
than 75 million executives

View online tutorials here
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.

Web Resources

PolitiFact California
PolitiFact California is a partnership of Capital Public Radio and PolitiFact.com, a Pulitzer Prize-winning Web site of the Tampa Bay Times, to help you find the truth in politics. Reporters and researchers from the Capital Public Radio examine statements by California elected officials and candidates and anyone else who speaks up on matters of public importance. They research their statements and rate the accuracy on the Truth-O-Meter.
Rough & Tumble: A Snapshot of California Public Policy and Politics
Snapshot of the public policy and politics of California based on the reporting from more than two dozen publications
Politics - CalMatters
CalMatters is a nonpartisan and nonprofit news organization bringing Californians stories that probe, explain and explore solutions to quality of life issues while holding our leaders accountable.
Politico: California
Politico is a U.S.-based, politics focused digital newspaper company with a generally centrist point of view.
Propositions & Ballot Measures: Cal-Access (Campaign Finance Activity)
From the California Secretary of State. Be sure to click Historical if you need information from previous elections.

Your Class Librarian

Iris Carroll

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Need help now? In addition to our Research Help Drop-In Hours Monday - Saturday, we have online help available. Simply go to the Ask a Librarian page to get immediate help.

My Research Help Schedule

(In Person, East Campus L & LC. and Online Chat)

Mondays: 9-10 am, 11-2pm, 3-4pm
Tuesdays: 9-10 am, 2-4 pm
Wednesdays: 9am-12 pm (on West Campus), 1- 3 pm
Thursdays: 11 am-1pm

Zoom Appointments

Times vary. To see when I'm available and to schedule an appointment with me, simply click on the orange "Schedule Appointment" button above, then pick your date/time. If you do not see a day/time that works, please email me and we can arrange another time.

Email

If I am your class librarian, contact me through the Canvas inbox for a response within 24 hours. If I am not your class librarian, email me at carrolli@mjc.edu.

Subjects: Anthropology & Archaeology, Biography, Business & Careers, Celebrations & Events, Citing Sources, Countries & Cultures, Faculty Guides, History, Hot Topics & News, Library How-to, Political Science & Criminology, Psychology & Social Sciences, Research Tips, Statistics

POLSC 120 - California Politics and Problems - Paquet: Home