Research Guides: LGBTQ Resources: Home

Start with Background Reading

Use the Gale eBooks database (link is below) to find short overview articles on topics related to your research.

Some recommended search terms:

gay and lesbian studies
gay and lesbian rights
same-sex marriage
transgender
transgender rights
transgender people
gender identity
sexual identity
self identity
queer
queer theory
bisexuals

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
What's included: Gale eBooks is comprised of subject, specialized encyclopedias with articles written by scholars and experts.

Recommended Films for Background Research

Our House
Our House is a groundbreaking documentary that explores what it's like to grow up with gay or lesbian parents. Traveling to urban, rural and suburban communities in Arizona, Arkansas, New Jersey and New York, director, Meema Spadola, (the daughter of a lesbian mom) profiles the sons and daughters of five families - African American, Latino and white; Mormon, Christian, and Jewish - who illustrate some of the diversity of America's gay and lesbian families.
Forbidden Love: The Unashamed Stories of Lesbian Lives
Compelling, often hilarious and always rebellious, nine women paint a portrait of lesbian sexuality against a backdrop of tabloid headlines, book covers and dramatizations from lesbian pulp novels.
The Iron Closed
Around the world, battles are being won in the fight for same-sex partners to marry under law and for recognition that gay couples should enjoy the same financial and social benefits as heterosexual couples. However, in Russia, the fight is to stay out of jail or avoid fines for openly identifying as gay. Draconian anti-gay laws are effectively licensing vigilantism as gangs target the LGBT community. (27 minutes)
Being Gay: Coming Out in the 21st Century
This program presents the accounts and stories of people who have recently taken the step of coming out. Interviewees and experts discuss the benefits of this important transition by examining the six stages of coming to terms with one’s sexual identity. They also look at the dangers of running away from sexual self-acceptance—such as alcoholism, drug abuse, and suicide—and how finding support can greatly assist the process.

Recommended Databases for Further Research

EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search 22 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.
What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Why search here? When you want to find broad coverage on almost any topic you need to research at MJC, use Gale databases to search over 35 databases simultaneously.
What's included: Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Use this database when you want to explore your topic from a global perspective or to analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world with a global awareness.
What's included: You'll find news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Use this database when you want to find comprehensive, unbiased reporting and analysis to get background information on issues in the news.
What's included: Overview reports of topics related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy in America.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Why search here? This is a great database to use when you want to explore different viewpoints on controversial or hot-button issues.
What's included: It includes pro/con articles, court cases, primary sources, videos, media, editorials, and news on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Use the search or browse topics by subject or A to Z.