Health Education Research Process
8 Steps to Writing a Research Paper
Take a look at the graphic below to see the 8 Steps to Writing a Research Paper. Just follow these steps to have a successful and painless research experience:
Click the link below to read the text of this image.
Credibility is Crucial!
As you begin to answer your research questions, you need to be sure that you are using the best possible sources of information. You will likely find a variety of sources during your research: books, articles, Web documents, interviews, DVDs, and more. For each and every source you use you want to make sure it passed the CRAAP test:
Using Databases & Google to Find Credible Sources
Why Use Databases:
The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, videos, and more from thousands of respected publications. You can search these databases either by topic or for a specific article.
Using the Library's article databases ensures that you're using sources your instructors expect you to use, and you won't have to cull through millions of unrelated Web pages that will waste your time and energy.
Find Articles:
The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications.
Best Bets for You:
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowUse this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new windowThis is the resource for finding original, comprehensive reporting and analysis to get background information on issues in the news. It provides overviews of topics related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy in America.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new windowSearch over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new windowSearch 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
