Skip to main content

Happiness (Engl 100 - Kranzman): Home

Home

Search Terms

image of a checklistIn Gale eBooks, use the broad search term:

  • happiness

Then notice the books that the articles are from. For example, the article on Happiness from the Gale Encyclopedia of Philosophy will cover ideas that are different from the article on Happiness from American Governance.

*****

In the larger databases (Gale Databases and EBSCOhost as well as the library catalog and Google Scholar), try combining terms or using synonyms for happiness:

  • happiness philosophy
  • contentment
  • joy spiritual

Read background information

One of the best places to start a research project is with overview articles from specialized encyclopedias. That's what is in the Gale eBooks database.

If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in. Once you click on the name of a database, simply enter your student ID (without the W) and your six-digit birth date.

Explore your topic in Videos

MJC Library collection contains films that you can access online.                            Films on Demand logo

These resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.

If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in with your student ID (without the W) and your six-digit birth date.

Find additional relevant films by entering "happiness" or other search terms in our Films on Demand database:

Research questions

Find focused information in library databases

All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.

Search using the Key Search Words at the top of this guide, or use words more specific to your topic.

If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in. Once you click on the name of a database, simply enter your student ID (without the W) and your six-digit birth date. 

Using & Finding Books

Why Use Books:

Use books to read broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic. 

Where Do I Find Books?

You'll use the library catalog to search for books, ebooks, articles, and more.

 

What if MJC Doesn't Have What I Need?

Unfortunately, during the COVID-19 emergency, we are unable to process requests for materials from other libraries. We'll have this service up and running again as soon as campus opens and we're fully operational.

If you need materials (books, articles, recordings, videos, etc.) that you cannot find in the MJC Library catalog, use our interlibrary loan service.

Recommended eBook

Recommended websites

Use Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to find scholarly information on the Web.

Google Scholar Search

Ask a Librarian

Getting help has never been easier. Your MJC librarians are here to help.

 

 Call: East (209) 575-6230 / West (209) 575-6949

 Text: (209) 710-5270
 Email (ask@mjc.libanswers.com)

Visit Us

 

Research Help Drop-In
(See our hours)

YouTube videos

 

How-To Videos

Research 101: Need More Research Help?

If you'd like much more in-depth instruction about the process of conducting research, please check out our guides:

How to get more help from the library

Sample topics and articles

Refining your topic

As you refine your topic, you'll want to search by more specific terms that just "happiness." Below are some ways to study happiness with suggested search terms and a link to a sample article from the MJC databases to get you started.

Gratitude

Search Terms: gratitude and happiness, thankfulness and happiness

Volunteerism

Search terms: volunteer service and happiness, volunteerism and happiness

Friendship

Search terms: friendship and happiness

Mindfulness

Search terms: mindfulness and happiness, mindfulness joy

Nature

Search terms: "natural world" and happiness, nature "mental health," brain nature

Positive Psychology

Search terms: Positive psychology, positive psychology happiness

Religion

Search terms: religiosity and happiness, religion happiness, spirituality happiness, Christianity happiness, Buddhism happiness, Islam happiness, etc.

Happiness Scales

Search terms: happiness scale

Economics

Search terms: Economic happiness, wealth happiness, money happiness