Research Guides: English Research Basics: Cite Your Sources

Cite Successfully

To cite sources successfully, it's crucial you have a clear understanding of:

The TYPE of source you're using (magazine article vs. book vs. reference book article)
The PLACE where you found that source (in print at the library vs. online via a database vs. online via a Web site).
The source's full "bibliographic information" (authors/editors, title, edition, publisher, pages, etc.)

The citation style you use will affect your paper in three places:

The general format of the paper. This includes margins, font, page numbers, line spacing, titles, headings, etc.
The bibliography. The bibliography is the cumulative list of all sources used in your research. In MLA, this is called the Works Cited list; in APA it's called References, and in Chicago it's called Reference List.
In-text citation. Citing sources within the body of your paper let's your reader know you are incorporating someone else's words/research/ideas.

MLA Style

Created by the Modern Language Association, MLA is most often used by the Humanities, which includes languages, literature, philosophy, visual & performing arts.

Formatting Your Paper
Read the MLA formatting rules, watch videos to see how it's done, and see sample papers.
The Works Cited List
In-Text Citations
Learn what in-text citations are and how you create your own.
Annotated Bibliography

NoodleTools: Citations Made Easy

Use NoodleTools to help you create your citations.

It's easy; it's a form you fill out with the information about your source; it helps you catch mistakes.

NoodleTools Express
Use NoodleTools Express to create citations on the fly in MLA, APA, or Chicago style.

NoodleTools (Login Full Database for Students) This link opens in a new window
Why use this database? Use NoodleTools when you want to create and organize your research notes, share and collaborate on research projects, create and error check citations, and complete your bibliography in MLA, APA, or Chicago styles. You'll need to Create a Personal ID and password the first time you use NoodleTools.
What's included: Tools to provide you a workflow for your research including creation of notecards and outlines, the ability to collaborate with classmates on group projects, in addition to a citation generator that teaches you how to cite your sources as you complete the citation forms, and the ability to build your complete bibliography.
Use NoodleTools Express if you just need to create a source citation on the fly, then copy and paste it into your document. No login required.

See How to Use NoodleTools Express to Create a Citation in MLA Format

Additional NoodleTools Help:

NoodleTools Help Desk
Look up questions and answers on the NoodleTools Web site
NoodleTools for Researchers
Research guide created for MJC students