Assignment

WA5: Text-to-World (Research Essay)

OVERVIEW:

During our third unit, we will be discussing ideas regarding environmental wellbeing, including aspects of how taking care of our individual selves extends to caring for our communities and the world we live. Our discussions will address environmental issues, personal & community responsibility, and adaptation/perseverance.

The main source for Unit 3: Environmental Wellbeing is Parable of the Sower: A Graphic Novel Adaptation. Through this story, we will begin asking interesting questions regarding our personal responsibility of caring for ourselves and others, as well as our individual and collective responsibility to care for our communities and environment. These questions will drive the research for this final formal essay of the course.

For this assignment, please write a 2,000-word (5-6 pages) argument-based research essay that

provides an introduction to a problem
summarizes that problem,
makes a judgment on that problem, and
presents a call to action.

The argument you present should focus an idea found in the graphic novel regarding any of the following:

Issues that impact our environment, or
personal responsibility for caring for the environment, or
the importance of community over the individual with environmental issues, or
adaptation and perseverance in the face of change, or
any other idea you see as important from the graphic novel.

Just be sure that the topic you choose is something that is problem-based and might be solvable.

WA5: Text-to-World Research Essay
persuasive research essay prompt/handout

Meet your librarian

Stella Beratlis

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Need help now? We have Research Drop-In Hours Monday - Friday in Fall 2024: Go to the Ask a Librarian page to get immediate help.

209-575-6245

Subjects: Biography, Celebrations & Events, Citing Sources, Countries & Cultures, Education & Child Development, English, Faculty Guides, Hot Topics & News, Library How-to, Research Tips, Statistics

Step One: Familiarize Yourself With Your Subject

Step 1: Familiarize Yourself with Your Subject with Background Reading

Begin your project by doing some background reading on your topic. Preliminary reading helps you do all the following:

achieve a basic understanding of your problem
begin to identify interesting specific questions that will form the backbone of your research; and
start to acquire vital search terms you need in order to explore your subject more fully.

Resources from MJC Databases - Background Reading

Sustainable Planet by Barbara J. McNicol (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781440855702
Publication Date: 2021-04-26
Sustainable Planet is a two-volume resource that provides comprehensive coverage on the world's most pressing environmental issues, their impact in countries around the world, and how--or if--they are being addressed. Sustainable Planet: Issues and Solutions for Our Environment's Future examines contemporary challenges to sustainability, including population, climate change, decreasing biodiversity, land degradation, and water quality
Environmental Health Sb, 6th Ed by Kevin Hayes (Other)
ISBN: 9780780819849
Publication Date: 2022
Environmental Health Sourcebook, 6th Ed has updated information about the effects of the environment on human health. Airborne, waterborne, food-borne, and chemical hazards are discussed, and facts about cancer, respiratory problems, infertility, autism, and other diseases with suspected environmental triggers are presented.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health by Brigham Narins
ISBN: 9780028666716
Publication Date: 2019-09-01
"Focuses on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic and pandemic diseases; chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer, and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying, and new substance abuse issues. Entries describe the origin and spread of the issue, public and government reaction and response, and treatments and preventive measures"--Provided by publisher.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health by Jacqueline L. Longe
ISBN: 9781410388230
Publication Date: 2024
"Contains over 280 entries on environmental health. Topics include significant historic and current natural and manmade events, public health terms, diseases and conditions related to the environment, and organizations and legislation"--
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty by Mehmet A. Odekon (Editor)
ISBN: 9781483345703
Publication Date: 2015-08-04
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty, Second Edition covers lots of territory, including points about the environment and its connection to poverty.
Natural Hazards and Disasters by Bimal Kanti Paul (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440862137
Publication Date: 2020-12-07
This two-volume encyclopedia provides the science behind such heart-pumping geophysical hazards as volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, cyclones, and floods, as well as authoritative entries on notable natural disasters around the world and the agencies that help those they impact. Look for chapters on Climate Change, Temperature Extremes, and other natural hazards. Or look up natural disasters such as the California Drought,

CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
For this assignment, look up reports on Safe Drinking Water, Climate Migration, Global Water Scarcity, and Plastic Pollution.

Dig Deeper with Academic Databases

Reports, Magazines, News, Academic Journals

EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Use this database when you want to explore your topic from a global perspective or to analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world with a global awareness. You'll find news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR was founded as a non-profit organization in 1995. It currently offers more than 12 million academic journal articles, 100,000 books, and millions of images and primary source materials in 75 disciplines.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
This is a great database to use when you want to explore different viewpoints on controversial or hot-button issues. It includes reports on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Use the search or browse topics by subject or A to Z.

Step Two: Find, Read, and Reflect on Your Sources

Step 2: Find Sources on the Topics You Identified in Step 1

Do a comprehensive search utilizing the sources above; leave no stone unturned
Print/save/email the sources you find as you go to avoid backtracking
Read your sources several times, highlighting relevant information and making notes as you go.
If you have trouble finding the appropriate type or number of sources: MEET WITH STELLA or ANY RESEARCH LIBRARIAN

Step Three: Start Writing a Draft

Step 3: Start Writing a Draft

Make an appointment with Writing Center staff at least once. They will help you get started, proceed, and/or finish. This is a free service that you should always utilize to maximize your success.
Utilize the MJC Library & Learning Center's FORMAT & CITE page to aid with MLA. A research librarian can provide face-to-face or Zoom assistance with formatting and citing as well.

Research Questions

You already have a pair of research questions to consider, as noted from the prompt:

Would it benefit or harm someone to become more altruistic or egoistic? (individual focus)

In what ways would being more altruistic or egoistic benefit society or harm it? (society focus)

Consider answering one or both of these questions as a single statement that is arguable.

Popular, Substantive, Scholarly Information

Evaluating Sources

MLA Citation Style

Ready, Set, Cite (MLA 9th)
by Kathleen Ennis Last Updated Nov 6, 2024 8509 views this year

Citation Examples

Citation Examples and Template:

Each citation in your list of works cited is composed of elements common to most works -- author, title, publication date, etc. These are called the MLA core elements. The core elements are assembled in a specific order as shown to the left.

Use the links below to see examples of source citations and practice using one of the templates.

If you don't find what you need below, check out the MLA's, Ask the MLA.

Handouts:

Citation Examples by Format:

Cite Your Sources with NoodleTools Citation Builder: Easy!

Go to NoodleTools

NoodleTools Express
No sign in required. When you need one or two quick citations in MLA, APA, or Chicago style, simply generate them in NoodleTools Express then copy and paste what you need into your document. Note: Citations are not saved and cannot be exported to a word processor using NoodleTools Express.

NoodleTools (Login Full Database) This link opens in a new window
Create and organize your research notes, share and collaborate on research projects, compose and error check citations, and complete your list of works cited in MLA, APA, or Chicago style using the full version of NoodleTools. You'll need to Create a Personal ID and password the first time you use NoodleTools.

ENGL 100 - De La Cruz Sanchez - Fall 2024: Research Essay