Find Information - CLDDV 111 - Health, Safety, and Nutrition - Preciado - Research Guides at Modesto Junior College Library

Understanding How Sources Work for Your Paper

Using Databases

Why Use Databases?

The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications.

Using the Library's article databases ensures that you're using the academically-appropriate sources your instructors expect you to use. Also, you won't have to cull through millions of unrelated Web pages that will waste your time and energy.

___________________

Top Picks:

All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, and staff.

If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in using your MJC sign-on information.

Gale Databases

Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets
EBSCOhost Databases

Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets

ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is the education database. It is an essential source for articles on all aspects of education. ERIC contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from nearly 560 scholarly journals, some dating as far back as 1965

Search Google Scholar

Search scholarly materials on the Web.