Laying the Foundation: Preliminary Tasks - CLDDV 103 - Child Growth & Development - Brennan - Research Guides at Modesto Junior College Library

Background Reading

Many students turn to Wikipedia for their initial exploration of a topic. This is fine, but be sure to augment your background research with sources you can actually include on an academic bibliography (a.k.a. your References list).

Conduct background research because:

It is a great source of core knowledge on your topic
It can generate ideas on different ways to focus your topic
It can answer research questions you've already posed
It may help you clarify and/or expand research questions.
It often points you towards other sources of information on your topic

____________________________

The list below includes both print and online resources to help you get started with your preliminary reading.

All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, and staff. If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in. Once you click on the name of a database or eBook, simply enter your student ID (without the W) and your six-digit birth date.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
This is the resource for finding original, comprehensive reporting and analysis to get background information on issues in the news. It provides overviews of topics related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy in America.
Facts on File Databases This link opens in a new window
Facts on File databases include: Issues & Controversies, Issues & Controversies in History, Today's Science, and World News Digest.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text of editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources. This is your source for The Modesto Bee from January 1989 to the present. Also includes in-depth special reports and hot topics from around the country.
To access The Modesto Bee, limit your search to that publication.
Watch this short video to learn how to find The Modesto Bee.

Developing Research Questions

Creating Research Questions

Why research questions?

Outline the flow of your paper: introduction, body, conclusion.
Create targeted search queries to quickly find the most useful sources.
Track the sources you've found vs. those sources you still need to find.

Sample Introduction questions:

What is your topic?
Why is your topic an important issue?
What background information is necessary to understand your topic?

Sample body questions

What caused your topic?
What are the effects of your topic?
What are the arguments FOR your topic?
What are the arguments AGAINST your topic?
What is being done to address your topic?

Sample conclusion questions

What conclusions can you make about your topic and why have you come to those conclusions?
What can you argue about your topic and why are those arguments valid?
What should be done to address your topic and why?

WHAT KINDS OF SPECIFIC QUESTIONS SHOULD I ASK?

Always look at your assignment for clues on the types of information and the actual content of information you’ll need to find for your research. Often, professors will give you an assignment with bullet points or areas they'd like you to address in your essay. You can turn those elements into research questions that you need to answer in the course of your research. This is a huge benefit to you because these questions give you a focus and a road map to follow to find information.

Example assignment: Explore childhood vaccination and why it is such an important concern.

Brainstorm keywords: child immunization: childhood, vaccination, vaccination schedule, laws,

_________________________

Introductory Questions (General)

What does childhood immunization refer to?
- Provide a comprehensive definition from a specialized encyclopedia or website (Gale eBooks, CDC.gov).
Why is this issue important? (Vaccine controversies, more about vaccine controversies, recent news about childhood immunization to provide more context? )

Body Questions (More analytical)

What is the typical immunization schedule for children in the U.S. (American Academy of Pediatrics)? Are there differences state by state (Immunization Action Coalition, National Conference of State Legislatures Vaccine Policy Series)?
Why are the reasons why childhood immunization is considered critical (CDC.org, Immunization Action Coalition, EBSCO database articles)?
Why would a parent choose not to immunize ("State of Vaccine Hesitancy in the United States" Univ of Georgia Study in PubMed )?

Concluding Questions (Wrapping up)

Based on my research, what do I think about immunizations and why?