When searching the library databases and the Web, search by theory:
Once you have determined your comedic text and theory, narrow your search terms:
You need to be sure that you are using the best possible sources of information. You will likely find a variety of sources during your research: books, articles, Web documents, interviews, films, and more. For each and every source you use you want to make sure it passed the CRAAP test:
Currency - Is the content presented current enough for your project? For your specific research question?
Relevancy - Does it answer your research question?
Authority - Does the author have relevant expertise on the topic about which she is writing?
Accuracy - Is the information provided correct?
Point of View - Is the information biased? Is the author trying to persuade you to believe a certain way?
Watch the brief video below to learn more about the CRAAP Test:
If you'd like much more in-depth instruction about the process of conducting research, please check out our guides:
Calvin and Hobbes by Bill Watterson, January 2, 1989
You may have a favorite text you wish to use for this assignment, but if you are still looking, the following sources may help:
All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.
Search using the Key Search Words at the top of this guide, or use words more specific to your topic.
If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in. Once you click on the name of a database, simply enter your student ID (without the W) and your six-digit birth date.
Why search here? Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
What's included: Gale eBooks is comprised of subject, specialized encyclopedias with articles written by scholars and experts.
Why search here? Search 22 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.
What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Why search here? When you want to find broad coverage on almost any topic you need to research at MJC, use Gale databases to search over 35 databases simultaneously.
What's included: Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
For guidance on searching the Web, see Google for Researchers.
Your instructor should tell you which citation style they want you to use. Click on the appropriate link below to learn how to format your paper and cite your sources according to a particular style.
Getting help has never been easier. Your MJC librarians are here to help.
|
Schedule a Research Appointment Phone:
Text: (209) 710-5270 |