The MJC Library subscribes to many academic databases filled with articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more. You can easily search these article databases for information on your topic, much like you search using Google. Using the Library's article databases, however, ensures that you're using the high-quality sources your instructors expect you to use. Also, you won't have to cull through millions of unrelated Web pages that will waste your time and energy.
For research in the fields of nursing and allied health, try the following databases.
| NOTE: These resources are free for you because you are a student at MJC. If you are working from anywhere off campus, you'll need to log in using your campus email and password. |
Why search here? Use this database to research topics in nursing and allied health.
What's included: This Gale database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's Health Reference Center
Why search here? Use this database to find academic articles about your medical topic.
What's included: Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. This database also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Why search here? Use this database to research all aspects of the nursing profession from direct patient care to health care administration.
What's included: A wide variety of journals, trade publications, magazine, news, videos, and images
Why search here? Use this database when you want to focus your research on psychology or another behavioral science using magazines and peer-reviewed, scholarly journals.
What's included: Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to hundreds of full-text journals and offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Most of the information one finds on the Web is unsuitable for the rigorous demands of nursing and allied health research. However, there are some exceptions. There are many peer-reviewed journals that offer full-text access to their articles. This is a great way to supplement the research you do using the MJC Library databases. Check this out for more information:
Why search here? Use Docuseek2 to discover, access, and stream the best documentary and social issues films and videos available.
What's included: Independent, social-issue and environmental films from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution.
For faculty: Instructions for embedding Docuseek2 into Canvas.
The MJC Library owns thousands of eBooks that you can use at any time of the day or night. You can find these in the MJC Library Catalog and in some of our research databases.
The MJC Library research databases that provide access to full-text books are below:
Use books to read broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic. You can also use books to find primary sources, which are often published together in collections.
You'll use the library catalog to search for books, ebooks, articles, and more.
If you need materials (books, articles, recordings, videos, etc.) that you cannot find in the library catalog, use our interlibrary loan service.