It's important to begin your research learning something about your subject; in fact, you won't be able to create a focused, manageable thesis unless you already know something about your topic.
Use the words below to search for useful information in books and articles.
Depending on the focus your research takes, some of these terms may also help:
All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.
Why search here? Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
What's included: Gale eBooks is comprised of subject, specialized encyclopedias with articles written by scholars and experts.
Body image is a complex topic that is best dealt with by narrowing your focus. Do some background reading, and use the questions below to help you focus your topic. Once you have a more narrow topic, develop specific research questions (for an example, see the research questions on Body Image in our Developing Research Questions guide).
When you are ready to explore and answer your research questions, use these databases below.
Why search here? When you want to find broad coverage on almost any topic you need to research at MJC, use Gale databases to search over 35 databases simultaneously.
What's included: Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Why search here? Search 22 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.
What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Use Google Scholar to find academically-appropriate Web sites.
Your instructor should tell you which citation style they want you to use. Click on the appropriate link below to learn how to format your paper and cite your sources according to a particular style.
Phone:
Text: (209) 710-5270
